Breaking News!! -The Package Arrived!

So remember when I said I was getting a package?? Well… it was EXACTLY what I was hoping for!!

Yes, that’s right, I’m now the proud owner of a Vita-Mix!!!!!! I was literally jumping up and down when I saw this!!! So I ran home from work (and stopped into Ellwood Thompson to get some Guar Gum) because I knew that the very first thing I wanted to make was Heather’s famous Protein Ice Cream. I’ve seriously been dreaming of the day I could make this ice cream. (I tried it in the food processor and the magic bullet, but it just wasn’t the same.) I made sure I had all the ingredients and I got to work!

Look at that delicious creaminess! You’d never know there was ice in there. The vita-mix really took care of things! I had it with a little bit of almond butter and it was simply divine!!! I will definitely be making this on a regular basis. I can’t believe a huge bowl of this stuff is ~200 calories, and full of protein! So excited!!

After that, I decided I needed to make something for lunch tomorrow. So I flipped through the super awesome recipe book that came with the Vita-Mix and was inspired by one of the soup recipes. In the end, I just kind of threw things in the blender… Here is the basic recipe:

My Basic Vita-Mix Vegetable Soup

  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 1/2 cups baby carrots
  • 1 large can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups cooked couscous
  • garlic salt
  • basil
  • crushed red peppers
  • chili powder
  • salt
  • black pepper

I have no idea how much I used of each spice. I just kept throwing things in and tasting :) In the end, it turned out great, and it made TONS of soup. I’ll be freezing most of it, but I did save some out for my lunch tomorrow. I can’t wait!

That’s my soup, simmering on the stove :)

I’m really looking forward to trying Katie’s Coffee Ice Cream and Angela‘s Green Monster Smoothies!

So now, I must ask, what is YOUR favorite Vita-Mix/Blender recipe? (Bonus points if it’s Vegan!)

I can’t wait to try your suggestions!

-LLV

22 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’m so jealous of your Vita Mix! You need to make HEAB’s protein ice cream!

  2. 3

    The vitamix looks so awesome! Alas, I only got my new blender a couple of months ago, so I should at least wait a bit before splurging on a Vitamix. Ohhh..cannot wait for that day to come!

  3. 4

    Oh my gosh, congrats on your new baby! Err, I mean blender ;).

  4. 5

    woo hooo, gotta love new toys!!

    have a great day, pretty lady
    love, becca

    http://fromheretothereinpurple.blogspot.com

  5. 6

    Oh my gosh, a Vita-Mix! How exciting! I don’t have one, just a Magic Bullet, but I can’t wait to see more recipes you create!

  6. 7

    Kat said,

    Soooo jealous!! I want one so bad, but that thing is def NOT in my price range! Haha. I am looking forward to all your new creations!!

  7. 8

    You already made my favorite Vita-Mix recipe. :)

    Many many congrats on your new blender – I really do think it makes all the difference when it comes to protein ice-cream. If I could, I would send every food blogger out there one of those blenders. Best appliance ever!

    Have fun experimenting. :)

  8. 9

    Coach Chelle said,

    My husband has been dreaming of a Vitamix for so long!! One day.

    Last year we saw one demo’ed at a local fair and sampled various things
    they made…completely amazing. I know you are enjoying it, share more
    with us about things you use it for!

  9. 10

    Emily said,

    Ahhh, so exciting that you got a vitamix! I don’t have one, but it’d be great for making hummus and other things that make my blender angry. :-)

    Can’t wait to see all of your creations!

  10. 11

    I seriously need to break down and invest in a Vitamix. I’ve recently made a roasted garlic tomato marinara that is indeed vegan and uses the blender. You could easily make it raw as well.

  11. 12

    kaztronomic said,

    Yay! -happy dance- That’s so exciting! I need to start saving up, because I seriously covet those fluffy smoothies I keep seeing everywhere. :D

  12. 13

    Simply Life said,

    Oh that looks so fun to have!

  13. 14

    Nicole said,

    You’re so lucky you own a Vitamix! I’m pretty sure those guys are life-changing! I just decided it was time to check one out on Amazon, and let the hubby in on the “look how tempting this is” action. We’ll see what happens!

    Best. Green. Bomb. Ever (courtesy of Brit @ britchikruns)
    2 huge handfuls spinach
    1/2 cup rice milk
    1/2 cup [soy] yogurt
    1 cup cereal (neutral tasting one)
    1 frozen banana
    2 frozen strawberries
    2 ice cubes
    splash o’ vanilla

    BLEND! And since you have a Vitamix, you won’t have to wait 10 minutes ’till it’s blended, or use a spoon to shove the spinach to the bottom :( bad lame blender of mine, baaad…

    Have a happy day! :)

  14. 16

    i’ve never seen this vita-mix blender but it looks like a fun toy! we have a regular blender, but barely use it. i think the toaster is the most used appliance in our kitchen :)

  15. 17

    So jealous!! My eyes are green with envy girl!! I’m coming over to borrow your vita-mix :)

  16. 18

    Thislady25 said,

    Wow that’s so awesome! I dream of HEAB’s protein ice cream dude!! Enjoy and keep posting what you make so I can drool over it please :].

  17. 19

    uhhh as someone who’s blender is currently broken for the 190834093th time, i kinda hate you right now!!! :)

    why aren’t you in va so i can sneak over and use it?!?
    -rebekah

  18. 20

    Cindy said,

    lucky lucky lucky duck!

    good for you, I’ll have to donate a kidney for one…better get crackin’

    can’t wait to see what else you make!

  19. 21

    […] and dinner was some “fried” zucchini, some Vita Mix Soup. Delicious! (There also may have been some soy crisp munching going on, as well as a bowl of extra […]

  20. 22

    Michelle said,

    That soup looks SO Good!! I’m going to have to try that!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

