Vita-Mix Fun!

I haven’t wanted to leave my kitchen, because I’ve been having so much fun with my Vita-Mix! (Thanks again, Mom & Dad!) As you know, my first Vita-Mix recipe was HEAB’s protein ice cream. It was delicious! But this morning, I was looking for something even richer & creamier…

I remembered Katie’s Advice on Vita-Mix recipes that called for a lot of ice, but I also didn’t want to use too much frozen fruit, since I wanted my protein ice cream to remain chocolate-y. Behold, my answer!

Instead of adding in almond milk + ice cubes, I froze almond milk in my ice cube tray, and added that in! Here was my version of Vita-Mix Protein Ice Cream

Extra Creamy Ice Cream

Oh my gosh, this was heavenly! It still made a heaping bowl of ice cream, but it was super creamy and chocolate-y. It was almost too rich for breakfast… almost. I may or may not have drizzled a tablespoon of PB on this… :)

And check out the nutritional stats on this here! Crazy good stats, I’d say! Especially for a huge bowl of this stuff!

Yesterday, I started my day off with a Green Purple Monster!

This was about 1/2 cup of blueberries, 1 cup of ice, 1/2 cup of Almond Breeze, a splash of pineapple juice, and 4 huge romaine leaves and 1 packet of Truvia. The berries gave it a nice sweet taste, and you could barely taste the romaine. I great way to get your greens in if you don’t like salad!

For dinner, I wanted some “fried” Zucchini”, but who wants to ruin zucchini by deep frying it? Here’s my version:

“Fried” Zucchini

  • 1 small zucchini
  • 3/4 cup Fiber One cereal
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • Chili powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Crushed red pepper

Slice up your zucchini into little rings, about 1/4″ thick. Run the Fiber One through the food processor (or Vita-Mix :) ) until it’s the consistency of bread crumbs. Add in the spices (and feel free to play around with these!) and stir! Then you just dip the zucchini slices in the almond milk, and coat in the “bread” crumbs. You don’t need much milk, just enough so the bread crumbs will stick. Then bake for about 35 minutes at 350 degrees. The bake time is approximate. Make sure you bake them long enough. One time I took them out too early and they were soggy and yucky. Don’t take them out until they feel crispy!

I would have taken a picture… but I sort of burned it :( It actually still tasted really good, but the picture didn’t do the taste justice!!

Are their any foods/recipes you love, even though they don’t look appetizing?

-LLV

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Heather said,

    Oooh, the fried zucchini recipe looks awesome :) I’m gonna have to try that.
    I’d have to use some kind of GF cereal, but that’s not a problem.
    Looks like you’re having a great time playin’ with your Vitamix.

  2. 2

    Um, half the things I eat don’t look appetizing really – well, at least according to CD. I throw so many things into my Vita-Mix, and often it looks like I’m eating big bowls of pooh. Still tasty though!

    So happy to hear you are loving your blender, and your extra creamy protein ice-cream sounds delicious. I used to add frozen coconut milk cubes to smoothies, but have never tried freezing the almond milk for the ice-cream. I must try this when I get home! Thanks for the idea, and I hope you have a wonderful weekend Liz. :)

  3. 3

    thanks for the recipe! i don’t eat any fried foods so this baked zucchini is perfect!

    i’m still learning to make my food pretty so yes, i definitely have a few recipes that aren’t considered photogenic. whenever i make sweet potato fries, they’re always black on the outside? haha…am i the only one with this problem??

  4. 4

    Yum! Ice cream for breakfast? YES PLEASE! :D

    I think green monster smoothies don’t look appetizing (they look swampy!), but they’re addicting!

  5. 5

    Thanks for the recipes, nothing beats ice cream for breakfast!

    I am still so jealous of your Vita Mix!

  6. 6

    Kat said,

    So so jealous!!! Maybe one day I will splurge on that baby…..I have been dying to try that ice cream too!! It is so much better for me than the cookies and cream my hubby brings home lol

  7. 7

    kaztronomic said,

    Mmm, that protein ice cream looks so good!

    Oh, thank you for the baked zucchini recipe! I have so much zucchini right now that needs used up. :D

  8. 8

    ive been begging my family to buy me a vitamix for my birthday! they can do just about anything and everything!

  9. 9

    Mimi said,

    I LOVE playing around with the Vita! Also, a great ingredient for upping the chocolate factor is a teeny bit of instant coffee. You don’t taste the coffee but it enhances the cocoa flavor.

  10. 10

    Nicole said,

    I love how easy it is to hide greens in a smoothie! I can be guilt-free the rest of the day if I can’t cram too many more veggies in! There is whey protein in Shakeology, so it is probably not vegan…but if you’d like a sample, I’d be happy to send one your way!

  11. 11

    Thislady25 said,

    I want oneee. Glad you’re enjoying it. Everything looks fantastic. I freeze my almond milk too! My mom thinks it’s so strange. Will def throw your blog in next time I get ‘the look.’

  12. 13

    [...] always looking for an excuse to use my favorite kitchen appliance! (Thanks again, Mom & [...]

  13. 14

    [...] and dinner was some “fried” zucchini, some Vita Mix Soup. Delicious! (There also may have been some soy crisp munching going on, as well [...]

  14. 15

    I love how you froze some of your almond milk and used it as your ice in you breakfast “ice cream.” That is such a great idea.

  15. 16

    If you desire to improve your knowledge just
    keep visiting this web site and be updated with the most up-to-date news posted here.

  16. 17

    brynn said,

    Thanks for every other informative web site. The place else may I am getting that kind of info written in such an ideal manner?
    I have a undertaking that I’m just now working on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

  17. 18

    Eladia said,

    Hello there, I believe your web site might be having
    internet browser compatibility issues. When I look at your
    site in Safari, it looks fine however when opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping
    issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads
    up! Aside from that, excellent blog!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

