Comfort Food Cravings

The weather here has gotten cooler pretty quick, and it has me craving two things: Soup & comfort food! Soup hasn’t been a problem. I’ve been eating that pretty much every day! But comfort food… this one is a little trickier. I’d been craving some old school Kraft Mac n Cheese. I’m pretty sure my brother and I used to eat this 5 times a week! (Healthy I know!!) So what’s a vegan to do?

 

I remembered HEAB’s Mac & Cheese and it sounded amazing, but I didn’t have spaghetti squash or avocado, and I’ve been trying not to go to the grocery store for each meal (I end up buying half the store) but I did have nutritional yeast, so I did some more recipe hunting, and found this vegetable couscous & “cheese” recipe from Oh She Glows. Ah ha! A combination I could duplicate. So I did a bit of a hybrid of the recipe and it turned out like this:

 

Vegan Style Mac & Cheese

For nutritional stats, click here

Bring 1/3 cup of water to a boil, and then remove from heat and add the couscous and salt. Let it sit, covered, for about 5 minutes. (If your peas are frozen, now is a good time to defrost them) After the couscous has absorbed most of the water, put on to low heat and stir in the soymilk, nutritional yeast, parmesan cheese and salt. Add the peas.

Volia! Now keep in mind, Nutritional Yeast doesn’t taste EXACTLY like cheddar cheese, but it’s a wonderful flavor, and nutritional yeast is packed with so many vitamins and nutritents! Cheese couldn’t begin to compare! (In a 70 calorie serving, it manages to pack in 6g protein, as well as B Vitamins and more!)

As for the calorie burn yesterday, I wasn’t feeling very well (I think I’m getting a cold, blech) so I skipped out on my Wednesday workout. If you remember Tuesday, I burned 2,417 calories. Well today  I burned just over 2,000. Now, the additional calories I burned Tuesday can’t be contributed entirely to my workout, because as I looked at the chart, it looks like I fit in a lot more walking on that day. Fitting in walking and light physical activity can be one of the best ways to stay in shape, without having to go to the gym.

 

What foods are you guys craving these days?

-LLV

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    That mac n cheese sounds good! I want some.

  2. 2

    eatmovelove said,

    Over 2000 calories!? Yipes.

    That Mac looks good…but I’m old-school and cannot lie – I do have KD in my cupboard ;)…and Annie’s shells…

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog! I agree with you, but do you mind if I ask how much you pay for rent?…some of these places are like $1200 without taking into account cable/phone bills, etc!! Yipes.

  3. 3

    Very tasty so much more healthier!

  4. 4

    spoonfulofsugarfree said,

    Ha! That is so funny, I just replied to one of your comments on my blog and mentioned nutritional yeast! too funny….But that “mac and cheese’ looks soooo good :)

  5. 6

    This looks SO good! I was planning on making vegan mac n cheese this week, but it’s been put on hold until next week!

  6. 7

    Simply Life said,

    oh this looks great!

  7. 8

    Um, I always crave old school mac & cheese! My brothers and I probably ate it almost as often as your family did – definitely my most requested meal…well, that and Hamburger Helper. Oh, how times have changed! :) So glad you got your cheesy pasta fix in without a trip to the store! Looked delicious. :)

    PS – Hope you’re feeling better today!

  8. 9

    kbwood said,

    amen about walking for a workout!!
    I LOVE MAC N CHEESE! Fav comfort food :)

  9. 10

    I love love loooove nutritional yeast! Your mac & cheese looks awesome. :)

  10. 11

    Meredith said,

    you are now responsible for a sudden pea craving. I want to go out and buy a bag of peas right now!!

  11. 12

    That looks so tasty! I must try that out – perfect comfort food!

  12. 13

    I totally need to get on this whole nutritional yeast thing. My mom used to use that in everything when were young and it always made stuff delicious!

  13. 14

    Several recipes in one of my vegan cookbooks call for nutritional yeast, but I have yet to try it. Your recipe looks great! Have you ever snuck whipped tofu into pasta n’ “cheese”? I do it often, and it rarely goes detected :)

  14. 15

    I’ve made mac and cheese with quinoa, but hadn’t thought about couscous! Super easy and very delicious looking! :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

