Cookies & Couscous

Since it’s a holiday weekend, my lovely friend Alexa Marie came to visit, so we’ve been enjoying Richmond, and celebrating her recent birthday. Of course no celebration would be complete without some cookies! So yesterday afternoon we kicked off the weekend by making some Maple Almond Butter cookies. Ever since I started reading Heather Eats Almond Butter I’ve been rather addicted to the lovely nut butters!

I found the Maple Almond Butter Cookie recipe at Sweet + Natural’s blog. Definitely check out this recipe, because not only is it vegan, but it’s also delicious! (Even your non-vegan pals will devour these in minutes!)

Maple Almond Butter Cookies

  • 1/2 cup natural almond butter
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped almonds

Here are all the ingredients mixed in:

The finished product:

The recipe only makes about 12 cookies, so I think next time I would double the recipe, simply because these cookies are so good!! These will definitely be making a reappearance!

Since the weather was so nice, Alexa and I walked to Carytown to meet my brother and his wife for lunch. We decided to try Carytown Burger and Fries (I checked and made sure they had some veg options before we went! 🙂 ) Alexa and I both ordered the Black Bean Burger.

Pictures of the food to come… Alexa is a photographer, so her pictures will be worth the wait!

Alexa and I also made these Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies which was my first time trying the Ener-G Egg replacer.  These weren’t my favorite, but I think it was because I slightly burned the bottoms 😦 The dough wasn’t sticky enough for us to roll it into balls, so we just pressed it all into a 9×13 pan, so maybe that was the problem. I’m not sure I’ll try making these again… but who knows!

Sunday, David and I wanted to make dinner and I was in charge of finding a recipe, so thankfully, I’d had one in mind for awhile. I came across this Cherry Tomato Couscous recipe from 101 Cookbooks, which I found on Everyday Godesss blog and if you leave out the feta cheese, it’s totally vegan! This came out SO good!

Most of our cooking attempts go into a failure or success category… but this one we decided belonged in the “repeat” category, it was that good! David even commented that he liked all the colors 🙂 today we’re taking the leftovers on a picnic! It’s great picnic food because it doesn’t have to be served hot or cold. Also, although I didn’t calculate the exact nutritionals for this, I can tell you it’s a great source of protein + fiber, as well as some healthy fats from the olive oil, and plenty of vitamin C from the tomatoes. You can’t beat that!

Last thought of the day: I’m really contemplating buying a Vitamix. Since I use my little baby food processor about twice a day, it seems like it would be worth the investment. Ever since my magic bullet broke, I haven’t had a way to blend drinks, and the food processor just doesn’t work so well. Plus, it seems like everyone in the blogosphere has a Vitamix!!

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Those cookies look fantastic! I loveee almond butter, mmm.

  2. 2

    If you love almond butter, you have to try that recipe! It’s super simple + delicious!

  3. 3

    The cookies look so good! And I LOVE couscous…gonna go check out the recipe now!

  4. 4

    I just got a vita… its awesome. But I got mine for much cheaper online, I wouldnt pay the full 450$!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

