Tempeh Triumph!!

Last night I was in the mood for some protein, and I’d been wanting to try tempeh (all of the recipes you guys suggested sounded so good!) and I found this one online, from Savvy Vegetarian which sounded simple enough. So I went to the store and picked up a package of Three Grain Tempeh:

I halved the recipe, since it served 4, and I just wanted some for dinner, and some to take for lunch the next day. This was actually super easy to make, and it only took about 20 minutes start to finish. While the tempeh was baking, I made some BBQ sauce (I’d always wanted to make some from scratch!) and I just so happened to have every ingredient the recipe called for, which is so rare! After making the sauce, I covered the tempeh in it, and baked it a few more minutes, then threw it on a FlatOut Flatbread with some lettuce and onions (I should have added a tomato for color!) and voila!

This meal was delicious! I know it doesn’t LOOK all that pretty (blocks of tempeh aren’t exactly cute…) but trust me, this thing was tasty! Also, it was only about 400 calories, 17g of fiber, and 29g of protein! It was a filling dinner for sure! (And today I’m going to have the leftovers at lunch 🙂 )

My garden is looking better! It’s hard to tell from this picture, but it’s growing quite nicely! I’ve gotten to pick and eat a few tomatoes 🙂

Here is a little red pepper, just starting to grow!

I love peppers, so I can’t wait for these guys to grow!

Does anyone have good recipes using tomatoes? I know Simply Life just posted a delicious looking marinara recipe! I have a feeling I’m going to have an abundance of tomatoes pretty soon, and I’m going to need some recipe ideas!

On a completely random non-food-related note, here was a picture I took in my parking lot yesterday, which just made me laugh!

Mr. Parking-Lot-Number-Painter… you might want to re-do this one…

Happy Friday, everyone!

-LLV

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’ve only had tempeh once . . I imagine that it would be great, if I knew what to do with it! I feel like it’s one of those things that should be marinated/ baked/ sauced.

    Tomatoes – Gourmet’s Tomato! Bread! Pudding! It’s savory – and awesome. You can probably find it on Epicurious.com

  2. 2

    Michelle said,

    I’ve never had tempeh, though I definitely want to try it. I don’t know where to get it though, since I’ve never seen it in the grocery store!

    • 3

      It’s a great source of protein and fiber, and it’s pretty tasty! It’s usually in the refrigerated section of the store, near the soy cheese and tofu! I hope you find it 🙂

  3. 4

    oh, gotta love tempeh! i love marinating it in soy sauce and garlic, oh and ginger too!

    and to answer your question from my blog, panda puffs are just like pb puffins! just smaller!!! they taste great though, for something that’s gluten free!

  4. 5

    Betherann said,

    Wow, your garden looks GREAT! I salute your gardening chops. 🙂

  5. 6

    The BBQ tempeh looks oh-so-good! Great job! 🙂

    Hmm maybe you can try making your own sauce out of tomatoes?

  6. 7

    I’ve never had tempeh! I really want to though, now that I know you thought it was good I may just have to pick some up one day. And holla to ohio bloggers! What area are you in? I’m reppin the Yo lol

  7. 9

    kaztronomic said,

    That looks really tasty! I love BBQ sauce on just about anything, but it’s killer on roasted veggies. 😀 I’ll have to try that recipe that you linked to. Yum!

  8. 10

    Ashlei said,

    Ooh I love tempeh!

  9. 11

    Simply Life said,

    This is great to know! I really enjoy eating tempeh but haven’t tried preparing it on my own yet!

  10. 12

    Oh congrats for your pepper.It must feel so good!

  11. 13

    hello little pepper!! YAY!!! and super red too 🙂

    mmm tempeh is SO GOOD ❤


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

