Saturday’s Ramblings

I was going to come up with a clever title for this post, but none of it really goes together, so I thought, forget it! I’ll just say what’s on my mind!

First of all, I have to confess, I LOVE tortilla chips. Love. I hardly ever buy them, because I can’t trust myself with a huge bag just sitting in the kitchen. I know it’s only a matter of days before the bag is empty, and I wonder how I ate them so fast… This got me wondering, how come tortilla chips don’t come in single serving bags? (And no, Doritos don’t count.) You can get pretty much everything else in single servings bags. Cookies, potato chips, pretzels, etc. But today, as I was strolling down the snack aisle at Whole Foods, I came across Garden of Eatin’ Popped Tortilla Chips! If you haven’t tried Popchips, I must say, they’re pretty good! In general, I’m not a huge potato chip fan, but these are pretty good, and they’re not too bad nutritionally. (They’re “popped” not fried!) So I was intrigued at this new tortilla chip. And better yet, a whole bag is only 3 servings! Perfect!

These guys are delicious! They’re crunchy but light, and they don’t have that greasy fried taste.  They’re great dipped in salsa, (I picked up some Trader Joe’s Chipotle Salsa) or on their own. They are a tad salty (ok, more than a tad, but I tend to like salty chips. These are just, very very salty) but it’s not overpowering. I’d recommend these chips for sure! (And even if you ate half the bag at once, it would still be less than 200 calories! And they’ve got some fiber in them as well!)

Yum!

Has anyone watched Food Inc? I watched it a few months ago and thought it was incredibly interesting. Now I’m watching “The Future of Food” (which is available to watch on Hulu for free!) This one is focused more on the agriculture industry, but it’s still kind of interesting. I also just finished reading Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food, and now I’m reading a book called Food Politics. In Defense of Food was a much easier read… Food Politics is much longer, and much more… technical, but I’m trying to finish it, because I think the message is interesting. It’s focused a lot of food marketing, and how the government plays a role in everything. I’m not sure I’d recommend it, but I would definitely recommend In Defense of Food. Do you guys have any other nutrition/food related books or documentaries you like? I’m always up for suggestions!

One last thing, I recently updated my Blogroll page, so be sure to check it out. There are some really great bloggers on there!

Hope you’re all enjoying the weekend!

-LLV

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Popchips are sooooo addicting! Have you tried making your own using plain flour or corn tortillas? They’re really good! I use La Tortilla and my boyfriend loves the homemade chips too. You can also change it up and make cinnamon chips if you want to go the sweet route 😉

  2. 2

    Simply Life said,

    Those chips look great! I recently posted about the documentary “Killer at Large” and thought it was really interesting!

  3. 4

    oh god i love tortilla chips and dip. last summer i seriously replaced my meals with this lol!

    oh and the probiotics are supposed to be taken daily for a couple weeks. ive skipped a couple days by accident but im sure its still fine. its quite amazing that u feel instantaneously better- anything that has results visible in the first week is so good!

    have a great rest of the weekend girl!

    xoxo ❤

  4. 5

    You’ve pretty much covered the popular books I’ve heard of. And dude chips and salsa are like my ultimate weakness. I could eat it for dayyyys! (:

  5. 6

    kaztronomic said,

    I almost bought some of those chips tonight, but silly me, talked myself out of it. Now I wish I had!

    I thought Fast Food Nation was a pretty good, easy read. I never saw the movie version of it, though. I just bookmarked The Future of Food; it looks very interesting, to say the least.

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I’m flattered! 😀

  6. 7

    Katie said,

    I love all those books too, and if you haven’t seen King Corn yet, I recommned it. Also check out Eating Between the Lines and Eating Animals. I’ve reviewed a bunch of these kinds of books on my blog – http://makingfoodandotherstuff.wordpress.com/bookshelf/

  7. 8

    greensandjeans said,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I could easily plow through a bag of tortilla chips in one sitting!

  8. 9

    hey! thanks for visiting my blog!
    yep, i’ve seen Food Inc., read Food Politics, and In Defense of Food.
    Scary stuff.
    I think that movie and those books should be required viewing and reading in schools. I wish people would realize that so many health issues could be avoided if they would just eat real untainted food.
    Those popped tortilla chips look awesome!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

