Food for Thought

Thank you to Simply Life for recommending the documentary “Killer at Large“. It was quite an interesting movie. I think its good to look at obesity, and what an impact it has on our society. Sometimes I get so caught up in food, that I forget the effect it has on so many people. Sometimes it feels like I live in a whole different world than most of society. I’ve never had a Big Mac, I don’t remember the last time I had a Coke, and I love exercising! I tend to think of food struggles as trying to restrain myself from eating a whole jar of almond butter 😉 Anyways, I would recommend watching that movie! I rented it on itunes for only $2.99! 🙂

So I’m a little slow to post these pictures, but my best friend ever, Alexa Marie, took a trip from Ohio to come visit me in Richmond! We went to Carytown Burger and Fries for lunch, with my brother and his wife. (I checked before we went to make sure they had vegan options! And they had a delicious black bean burger!)

Alexa is an amazing photographer, so I asked her to snap some pics for my blog 🙂

My delicious veggie burger!

My brother, eating his chili cheese fries… we are so different 🙂

We also decided to make some banana soft serve (I had been telling her how amazing it was) and then we made some Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars (vegan of course!)

Mixing up the oatmeal!

Smashing it into the pan

Adding a touch of maple syrup to our banana soft serve 🙂

We had our banana soft serve on top of some crushed graham crackers with a dollop of Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter. This combination was divine!!! You must try it 🙂

Does anyone have any other deliciously simple dessert recipes? This banana soft serve has become one of my favorites!

Thank you to all of the book and movie suggestions! I have a lot more watching/reading left to do!! 🙂

-LLV

26 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    chelsea said,

    Ahhhh I am so happy to have found YOUR blog 🙂 Love it! Consider me a full time reader 🙂

    ❤

  2. 2

    Justine said,

    That movie sounds so interesting! It is so amusing to me that there are places where one person can get chili cheese fries and some one else at the same place can stay vegan. 🙂

  3. 3

    kbwood said,

    im LOVING me some soft serve too these days!! SOO perfect for summer, right? yum!

  4. 4

    kaztronomic said,

    I finally washed my food processor, so I see some banana soft serve in my near future. 😀

    I like making absurdly easy peanut butter cups. 😛 I melt choccy chips in the microwave, put them in a liner, then add a dollop of peanut butter, then top it with more chocolate. Crazy easy, but also crazy-good. 😀

  5. 6

    lisaou11 said,

    Your brother has gorgeous eyes!

    I’ve seen that banana soft serve everywhere and it does look so good!

  6. 7

    spoonfulofsugarfree said,

    YA! Banana soft serve is my favorite! I also like taking a baked sweet potato and mushing it with some cinnamon and nutmeg. It’s like a pumpkin pudding!

  7. 9

    I still have to try out banana soft serve. It looks so good! I do the lazy version of it and slice up frozen banana over yogurt. 😛

  8. 10

    Softserve = staple in my house right now!!

    Thanks for the movie review! I never heard of that one!! Will def check it out!!!!

  9. 11

    Yum I love banana soft serve! i like to eat mine with a dollop of greek yogurt on the side and fresh berries on top.

  10. 12

    Katie said,

    A simple dessert I love is just having a spoonful of almond butter of peanut butter and then sprinkling chocolate chips all over the spoon! It’s like savoring a long Reeses peanut butter cup! 🙂

  11. 13

    Simply Life said,

    So glad you liked the movie! Oooh and those cookies look great!

    To answer your question – yes! i definitely think the zucchini fritters can be made vegan! The parm is definitely not needed, just adds flavor and you can use a substitute for the egg to help hold the batter together! Thanks for commenting!

  12. 14

    Banana softserve is definitely my recent favorite. I don’t even miss ice cream! And those bars look amazing, I am going to have to make them myself (:

  13. 15

    I still need to try making that banana soft serve! I don’t have a food processor, though, just a Magic Bullet which isn’t powerful enough to just blend frozen bananas together!

    I actually do something similar, though! I blend a frozen banana together with milk and it makes a very nice thick smoothie! You could probably use something like almond milk to make it vegan!

  14. 16

    P.S. In case you or any of your readers are interested, I have a giveaway on my blog for NuNaturals Stevia Products!

    http://www.fabanddeliciousfood.com/?p=13956

    Thanks!

  15. 18

    tanyasdaily said,

    I’m still stuck on the banana soft serve…don’t think I will tire of that.

  16. 19

    Lee said,

    Thanks for your comment on my latest post. Looking forward to checking your blog out.

  17. 20

    actorsdiet said,

    i’m all about simplicity when it comes to my dessert – lately just frozen fruit and a cookie have been doing it for me.

  18. 21

    I love veggie burgers. Actually I was thinking a recipe for my blog 🙂

  19. 22

    Erica said,

    Glad you had fun with your out of town guests 🙂 Love when restaurants have decent veg options. Those bars look incredible- totally going to check out this recipe- yum!

  20. 23

    Thanks for the recipe ideas! Will keep reading…

  21. 24

    April said,

    I tried banana soft serve for the first time last night. I really liked it!

  22. 25

    […] friend Alexa (remember her last visit?) is here again, and she’s making BUCKEYES! For those of you not from Ohio, the Buckeye is […]

  23. 26

    Therefore, eat blueberries whenever you get a chance in any form you like.
    But even more concerning was I contacted Jeremy Saffron who is a good friend of mine and he told me that he too thought
    it was once good and he did more research and found out it really wasn’t.

    If you wish to get the highest possible concentration of antioxidants, pure cocoa
    beans, or cocoa supplements can be purchased for an affordable price.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

