Mocha Muffins & Banana Cookies!

I saw this delicious Mocha Muffin recipe on Get Healthy With Heather‘s blog and they looked amazing, so I knew I’d have to make them asap! I just happened to have all of the ingredients, except for cornstarch, so I substituted that with some extra flour. I wasn’t sure if it would work, so I just made a half batch, and turned them into mini muffins! Here they are just out of the oven πŸ™‚

It was SO hard to let them cool!!! Once I tried one, I had to refrain myself from diving into the whole pan. These things are AMAZING!!!!! When I first tasted the batter, I wasn’t convinced, but once these babies came out of the oven, they were incredible. Seriously, get up right now and go make these!!! (Now I wish I’d made the whole recipe instead of just half!!!)

I also recently made some banana peanut butter oatmeal cookies. (The title alone is a mouthful!) They had such good nutritional stats that I thought they might make a good breakfast cookie, or a snack on the run!

They came out alright. They weren’t very sweet (I have quite a sweet tooth) and they were a little bland for my tastes. They would make a good healthy snack, but I wouldn’t reach for them as dessert. They were a simple vegan recipe though! If you like bananas and oatmeal, it would probably be a good recipe for you to try! I couldn’t really taste the peanut butter (I added some chocolate chips in the top row, as you can see). If anyone has suggestions for how to spice this recipe up a bit, I think it could definitely be worked into a stellar cookie!

For dinner, I felt like I wanted some veggies, so I had a lovely assortment of steamed veggies. (Yellow squash, asparagus, onions, carrots, peppers, and zucchini). I added some black pepper, crushed red pepper, and salt. That was it! It was quite delicious.

I also recently discovered a cereal I’m in love with! It’s called Hi-Lo Cereal. check out these stats!


  • Serving Size: 1/2 cup (30 g)
  • Servings per Container: About 11
  • Calories 90
  • Calories from Fat 10
  • Total Fat 1g
  • Saturated Fat 0g
  • Trans Fat 0g
  • Cholesterol 0mg
  • Sodium 95mg
  • Total Carbohydrate 13g
  • Dietary Fiber 6g
  • Sugars 3g
  • Protein 12g

Amazing!! And the stuff tastes great! I’ve been eating it with almond milk & a packet of stevia. It’s a good way to start my day off with some protein. Yum! I haven’t tried any of the other flavors, but the strawberry one is pretty good! I’m always on the hunt for some good cereals πŸ™‚

Does anyone have a cereal with better stats than the one above?? If so,Β  let me know!

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    WOW those muffins look so chocolatey and moist! I won’t be able refrain myself from having just one either!

  2. 2

    kaztronomic said,

    Those muffins would be in serious peril around me. Yum. πŸ˜€

    Whoa, those are some great stats on that cereal! I have yet to find anything that compares, though, so I think you may have found the jackpot. =)

    I bet if you take out the soymilk and trade it for another two spoonfuls of peanut butter, that would help with the taste. It might make it more peanut-buttery, perhaps? No idea. It looks like it could be a fun recipe to tinker with.

  3. 3

    I’m so glad you tried and loved the muffins! We polished off the batch in 2 days… They are hard to stay away from.

    Super stats on the cereal – so much protein in only a 1/2 cup serving is great.

  4. 5

    I love chocolate muffins because they’re basically just cupcakes with a healthier name. πŸ˜‰ Those look so good!

  5. 6

    If you want to keep the calories and sugar low in the cookies, you could add some stevia and maybe some extra cinnamon πŸ™‚

  6. 8

    The muffins look absolutely amazing. I am making muffins this week, that’s it, I am sick of seeing all these amazing pics…I used to make killer vegan choc chip muffins, idk why I ever stopped!

  7. 9

    I love mocha chocolates so I bet I would love these mocha muffins! I must make them ASAP!

    Haha, I actually think those cookies sound pretty good! I make similar cookies – oatmeal banana chocolate chip cookies (found the recipe on AllRecipes – love that site!). Some people might think they are a little bland but I love them! I find they satisfy my sweet tooth just enough to where I only need to eat a couple of them, whereas when things are very sweet, I tend to eat more of them! Kind of weird!

    Anyway, if you wanted to spice up the cookies a bit, maybe try adding some cinnamon (not sure if you added it or not since the recipe said it was optional) or apple pie spice!

  8. 10

    P.S. You were one of the winners of the giveaway on my blog for NuNaturals Stevia products! Congrats! Please see my blog for details! Thanks!

  9. 12

    Simply Life said,

    I’ve never seen that cereal before -great to know!

  10. 13

    I LOVE MOCHA MUFFINS. mm i wish i had some baking right now, would smell so good in the morning!! ❀ so yummy with a tea or coffee! they look GREAT ❀

  11. 14

    thehungryscholar said,

    I have never had a mocha muffin, but I should because I usually eat my muffins with a coffee beverage anyway. That cereal looks good, I’m glad they put strawberries in cereal now.

  12. 15

    Lindsay said,

    Mmm, must try mocha mini muffins. You are an evil influence πŸ™‚
    Thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

