I Crave What I Crave!

It’s been an interesting couple of days. But I’d rather not get personal on this blog so… let’s just move on to food reviews! Cool? Cool. I’m planning on getting my cholesterol checked tomorrow, so check back soon! Hopefully it’s a good update!

I recently attended the Richmond Vegetarian Festival, which was a lot of fun (Richmond has festivals for everything, seriously) and they had some great giveaways! Nature’s Path had some free samples, and I finally got around to trying their Pumpkin N Spice granola bar!

It was a very sticky texture, sort of like a warm rice krispee treat. It had a nutty crunch to it, thanks to the pumpkin seeds, but it was definitely a chewy bar, notΒ  a crunchy one. It definitely had some pumpkin spice flavor to it, but it wasn’t overpowering. Overall, I liked the bar, but I wouldn’t say it was the best bar I’d never had. I’d give it a 7 out of 10. Decent nutritional stats (140 calories, 2g fiber, 3g protein)Β  but I wouldn’t mind if it had a little more protein.

I’ve been eating a lot of soup recently (I know, it doesn’t make sense, craving soup in 100+ degree weather) but hey, I crave what I crave! Yesterday I had some Dr. McDougall’s Lentil Soup.

I LOVE this soup. I’d give it a 10 out of 1o! Not only is it tasty, but it’s filling, thanks to the 16g of fiber and 14g of protein per 230 calorie box! (It says a serving is 1/2 of this, but honestly, who eats half a can of soup?) Is anyone else craving soup despite the hot temperatures? Sometimes my food cravings don’t make sense, but who cares! πŸ™‚ I also tried Dr. McDougall’s Ramen Noodle Soup but I wasn’t falling in love. It was too salty, and it wasn’t very filling. The nutritionals weren’t all that great, so I definitely wouldn’t pick this soup again. (Not where there are so many other great soup options!)

Any good soup recommendations out there, either recipes or prepackaged? I like my soup to be relatively low in calories, but still pack a punch of fiber an protein. Any suggestions?

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Chelsey said,

    I love making veggie soups – I just throw everything in a pot! Or I also make a mean veggie chili (mommasita’s recipe!).

  2. 3

    Okay there is this soup from Cooking Light, I think it’s Potato Arugala soup? Oh my it’s the BEST soup I’ve ever made!! I should try to find the recipe again for you, seriously you’ll love it if you love veggie soups like I do.

  3. 5

    Justine said,

    Amy’s blackbean is amazing! I think it’s vegan too but I’d still check the label just to be sure. πŸ™‚

  4. 7

    kaztronomic said,

    That soup looks really good! I love having tinned soups to fall back on when I’m pressed for time.

    Not judgin’ the cravings. I’m the girl eating frozen fruit and sorbets in below-freezing weather. x)

    Amy’s makes good soups, and so does Health Valley. =)

  5. 9

    I like the Wolfgang Puck Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup. Don’t know how much fiber it has, though, but you could always add beans or veggies to it!

  6. 10

    I usually find prepackaged soups pretty tasteless. I’m not much of a soup fan to start with either (only in really cold winter days!). There was one that was pretty tasty though! I got it from TJ’s but I forgot the brand…it’s roasted red pepper or something. πŸ˜›

  7. 11

    Tina said,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I can tell I’m gonna like yours. We seem to have similar tastes. Pumpkin spice and a hearty lentil soup. Delicious! And I too crave soup even in hot weather. LOL

  8. 12

    I’ve had that brand of soup before-it was just veggies though, but I think there were some lentils in it.
    It was REALLY good and I don’t normally like pre-made soups.
    Homemade veggie soups/chilis on the other hand…..YES.

  9. 13

    im addicted to pumpkin seeds and i really need to try these bars cuz im sure id love them!! and lentils, omg, how can people not crave them!! MMM ❀


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

