Cupcake Experiment!

Maybe I should clarify, it was more of a frosting experiment than a cupcake experiment.

I was pretty confident in the cupcakes, since I *cheated* and used a mix! I’d been curious to try the Cherrybrook Kitchen cupcake mix, and I headed to a going-away-party for a friend, so this seemed like a good time for a test!

I used this mix, which was super simple. Just add margarine, (I used Smart Balance Light), vegetable oil, and water. This mix is dairy free, egg free, and nut free, so it’s great for people with allergies! (Or vegans šŸ™‚ ) The box says it makes 12 cupcakes, but since I was going to a party, I decided to make them in a mini-muffin pan. It ended up making about 24 mini-cupcakes. (Actually, it probably could have made like, 28 mini cupcakes, but I didn’t feel like leaving the oven on for 4 more cupcakes…)Ā  Once I got the cupcakes in the oven, it was on to the frosting challenge!

My mom used to make frosting using margarine, powdered sugar and vanilla, so I thought I’d start with that. I used more Smart Balance light, and some powdered sugar. I think melted the margarine just a bit, so it was softer, but not liquid. I think I used about 1/3 cup margarine, and then added about 2/3 cup of powdered sugar. Then I added maybe 6 drops of vanilla. It made a frosting that was… ok. It was kind of bland. So it was time to spice things up.

A week or so ago, I found peanut flour at Trader Joe’s. I wasn’t sure what I’d use it for, but I knew it would come in handy some day! Since my frosting was a little runny, peanut flour seemed like a good idea!

Sorry for the fuzzy picture! So I added it into my frosting mixture. I’d say I ended up added 1/3 cup.

It turned out perfect! It thickened the frosting, and added a wonderful peanut butter flavor that was PERFECT with the cupcakes! (I mean, come on, who doesn’t love PB+Chocolate?)

I forgot to take a picture of the finished cupcakes šŸ˜¦ But they were a hit at the party! Just to recap, if you want to make this:

Vegan Peanut Butter Frosting

  • 1/3 cup margarine
  • 2/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 6 drops pure vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup peanut flour

Mix together and enjoy! It even sets up nicely. (It doesn’t stay runny and gooey forever, so it’s easier to transport!)


Does anyone one else have fun frosting suggestions? Anything unusual you like to frost?

-LLV

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    mmmm……what kind of flour is in that mix? is it gluten free, too?
    for frosting, a fun unusual thing to do is add some stevia or sugar to coconut butter.
    yummmmm!!

  2. 3

    Good idea with the peanut flour in the frosting!

    For most cupcakes I just use peanut butter as frosting!

  3. 4

    When I worked at Pier One, we totally sold those mixes! A really yummy peanut butter frosting mix is PB&Co Dark Chocolate Dreams + powdered sugar + almond milk. DELISH!

  4. 5

    Interesting idea on adding the peanut flour to the icing. I haven’t seen that cupcake mix I don’t believe. May need to keep an eye out.

  5. 6

    Kat said,

    O gosh I could eat frosting straight from the bowl. My hubby always lets me lick all the frosting off his cupcake šŸ™‚ He’s a good man šŸ˜‰

  6. 8

    kaztronomic said,

    Oh, those look brilliant! I have peanut flour, and never thought to use it in a frosting before. That’s genius! šŸ˜€ Thanks for the idea. I now know that I *must* make choccy cupcakes with peanut buttery frosting in my near future.

  7. 9

    wow..it’s been AGES since i last used a cake/cookie mix! that one looks like it’s worth checking out though!

  8. 10

    Thislady25 said,

    Look at you getting all experimental you go girl :].

  9. 11

    Simply Life said,

    oh that looks great!

  10. 12

    Emily said,

    this recipe sounds delish! you are so creative.

    i’ve made chocolate ganache from tofu + choc chips!

    http://healthnut-em.blogspot.com/2010/04/fried-brain.html

  11. 13

    that batter looks insane!! bowl of addictiveness right there!! im so happy it turned out so good šŸ™‚ btw how fun is cupcake experimenting!! hehe ā¤

  12. 14

    Nicole said,

    Oh my gosh peanut butter frosting! Shoot, PB is so good you could slather a raw mass of it on any (cup)cake and it would feel just like frosting. Love Vegan recipes! Now, I want me a wholesome cupcake! I can’t even remember the last time I ate one of those guys!

    Have a great week?

  13. 15

    can you believe i’ve only made cupcakes before once in my entire life??? last month for my husband’s birthday, thought i’d give it a-go. yeah….i think i need some practice šŸ™‚


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

