Back in the Groove

So, I slacked on blogging. I actually slacked on everything. But that’s what vacation is all about, right? Let’s run through some of the highlights:

The week involved a lot of these:

My mom and I both love Chipotle, and my dad is nice enough to go there even though it’s probably not his favorite 😉

Rice, black beans, peppers & onions, tomato salsa, corn salsa, guacamole & lettuce. That, my friends, is perfection in a bowl.

I also had the best vegan/veggie burger ever at Northstar Cafe:

My friend Kelly and I split it, so you’re looking at just half of the burger & salad. Crazy! My friend Krysta gave me a recipe that is supposed to be similar, so I’ll have to try to recreate this. I’m going to miss Northstar Cafe!!

On Wednesday, I had dinner with my friend and former piano teacher, Christine 🙂 I got to see some of my old students as well! We had a fantastic time, and she made a HUGE table full of vegan food! This quinoa salad was amazing!

Miriam made some amazing vegan zucchini bread. We were all raving about how moist and delicious it was!

I’ll have to hunt down those two recipes, because they are definitely things I want to eat again!!!

Since the weekend isn’t ALL about food, here are some other favorite pictures:

I spent an evening on a rooftop with some friends downtown and the weather was just as perfect as the view!

The weather was beautiful all week, so we also got to take a nice walk in the park!

I should have pictures of the two weddings I went to, but… alas. Those will have to come later, from other people’s cameras!

For now, I’m going to go finish getting caught up on work e-mails! Hope you all had a great weekend!

-LLV

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Emily said,

    I LOVE Northstar Cafe (assuming it’s the one in Cbus). I love that they use mostly local food, and that it is made to order. I miss it a lot..that an Jeni’s Icecream. 🙂

    • 2

      Yes, it was the one in cbus! SO good! I wish they had them here in VA! Oh and Jeni’s ice cream is amaaaazing! 🙂 The coffee + dark chocolate is my favorite flavor combo!

  2. 3

    Chipotle is by far my favorite “fast food” type restaurant. It is so easy for me to eat there!

  3. 4

    kaztronomic said,

    That’s what vacation is for: taking time for yourself and enjoying time with family and friends! I’m glad to see you back, though. =)

    That burger looks so delicious! Ooh, I hope you’re able to snag those recipes! That quinoa salad looks pretty delish, and so does that vegan zucchini bread. Oh, and those views are beautiful! 😀

  4. 5

    Chipolte is the best fast food since everything they use is organic, fresh, local etc!!!

    The salad looks great…hope you have been doing well!!!

  5. 6

    Glad your vacation was nice!

    Zucchini bread is the best and that loaf looked so moist and delicious! The top looks super sticky in that super-delicious-how-baked-goods-should-be kind of way!

  6. 8

    Glad you had a great vacation! Love all the pictures!

    Love all the food! I’ve never had zucchini bread before, but it looks delicious! I’ll have to try making it one day!

  7. 9

    I definitely have to check out that veggie burger next time I’m in cbus!! Thanks for the awesome photos 🙂

  8. 10

    14yearoldvegan said,

    I reallly want to taste zucchini bread! I haven’t had it since i was about 7 years old and that was the non-vegan version of it.. i tried making zucchini muffins but they didn’t taste all that great.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

