Vegan Creamer & The Organic Debate!

We have free coffee at work, that’s available all the time (awesome, I know!) and we even have those fancy cappuccino machines! A great work perk, for sure, but the problem is, the creamer! I used to drink my coffee black, but now I usually like to add a little almond milk, and a packet of Stevia. The problem is, almond milk isn’t really an option at work, or anywhere else for that matter. I know there are “non dairy creamers” but those powdered things freak me out. Vegan or non vegan, I’ll pass on the hydrogenated oils. So lately, I’ve been bringing a little tiny tupperware container of almond milk to work with me, then I just put some in my coffee, add some Stevia, and I’m good to go! Not so bad, but I sort of wish there was an alternative. Are their vegan powdered creamers? I’m not sure how “natural” a powdered creamer is. I’m just tired of packing a container of almond milk with me in the morning! Anyone have suggestions? Do you guys use cream in your coffee? I’ve heard coconut milk is really good in coffee, but I’ve never tried it!

While we’re on the subject of vegan coffee… check out this Vegan Coffee Ice Cream recipe from Whisk and Quill!! Doesn’t that look delicious? I’m definitely going to have to try that…

Last night I made some Vegan Spicy Chili and it was so good!

I was really excited to bring the leftovers for lunch today… and then I left them in the fridge šŸ˜¦ Oh well, I guess that means I won’t have to make dinner!


I saw this post from Carrot’s N Cake and it was really interesting! I’ve really been trying to understand more about organic food, and even though I’m not eating dairy, it was still interesting to learn about organic dairy farming! What do you guys think about organic vs. conventional food? Sometimes I think it’s just a food marketing hype, but in a lot of cases, I do think it’s better to buy organic. I might be a little more expensive, but I think it’s worth it, instead of ingesting various pesticides and chemicals and genetically modified food.

What do you guys think, do you usually buy organic or conventional produce? What about dairy or meat?

That’s all for now!

-LLV

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Gail said,

    Have you tried So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer? It comes in 16-oz cartons, and the French Vanilla is the best thing that ever happened to my morning coffee!

  2. 2

    kaztronomic said,

    Coconut milk is definitely the best creamer! 2 tbs makes my huge 20 oz mug a delicious, opaque cuppa deliciousness. You can store the rest in your fridge in an empty jar with a lid, and it lasts several days. Or cook with it. Either way. šŸ˜€

    I know you’re vegan, so it’s not really an issue with you, but when it comes to animal products, I ALWAYS buy organic. I can’t stand how animals are treated in factory farming, so I buy organic eggs only and if I could eat dairy or meat, I’d buy organic, too. I prefer organic when it comes to small fruits like berries, too, since it’s so hard to clean off all the pesticides, but sometimes cost wins out.

  3. 3

    emily said,

    I think Almond Breeze should start making creamer! I usually put that in my coffee, but I drink my coffee at home. šŸ™‚

    I try to choose organic produce (especially the dirty dozen) when possible, but I will also choose local food over organic food sometimes. I think it is a balance. We don’t know the side effects of consuming pesticides.

    I don’t consume much dairy, but if I do, I prefer organic (hormone and pesticide free) versions. There is a lot of dispute on this, but it’s my personal preference. šŸ™‚

  4. 4

    I do the almond milk route – perhaps you should bring a half gallon to work and then just put your name on it I don’t know how honest the people you work with are!

    I honestly buy what I can afford. I try to do organic, but sometimes it just doesn’t work out!

  5. 5

    I buy organic when I can, but I do not go out of my way to find organic. And to be honest, sometimes my budget talks louder than my health — and I go with the cheaper alternative. I know I need to do more reading about why eating organic is better, etc and hopefully I will get to that soon.

    I do buy organic “dirty dozen” foods — google the list if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

  6. 6

    Lisa said,

    hey girl! I do the almond milk thing to. I try and buy organic foods as much as possible or I buy local! Local is better if there are no organic options because it travels less distance, so its overall fresher.

  7. 7

    Organic is not always the greenest choice, and conventional is not always the healthiest choice. Local organic is ideal but not always available! Some organic foods travel sooooo far to get here, that you have to wonder, how do they even regulate the organics in other countries? If you are in the US it MUST say USDA Organic on it, or else, it can be whatever, there are no regulations. Supporting your local farmers is the greenest choice–talking to them about how they raise their crops…you may be surprised! It costs farmers SOOO much to get USDA certified, that sometimes they just can’t do it, but feel very strongly about NOT using pesticides in their crops, making them organic, technically!

  8. 8

    leashieloo said,

    I get a handful of items conventionally but most of the time, it’s organic all of the way. Even if it’s hype, I think the argument of less pesticides and chemicals are enough for me. Local is my new thing though, the less it’s traveled to get to your plate, the better!

  9. 9

    I buy organic fruits and veggies mostly except for a few that dont matter and alwayss organic meats! They are filled with hormones and stuff I dont want in my body. Meh.

    Im with you on the freaky creamers, they are nasty. The only downer about almond milk is that there is no fat, and the fat is what makes the texture of coffee so amazing. Coconut creamer is delicious, you should try it!

  10. 10

    i’ve read in some cases it’s good to buy organic, and in some cases it doesn’t matter. like if fruit or veg has a thick peel or skin (pineapple, avocado) non-organic is just as well. truthfully, i don’t see a lot of organic products in our groceries out here, so i don’t have the option.

    oh – and i love soy milk in my coffee šŸ™‚

  11. 11

    Mimi said,

    Coconut milk rocks in coffee.

    Organic is overrated. I wrote an article on it for my uni’s newspaper:
    http://dailytrojan.com/2010/03/30/science-behind-organic-is-underripe/

    If you want to eat local though, the stuff does taste better and you often (but not always) support local business. You do not, however, necesarrily ease your carbon footprint.

    As for meat, I do like organic if it’s accompanied by humane treatment. Also, I do not like antibiotics in my food. Most of the science on hormones is sketchy–I don’t think they are much of a problem. But antibiotics seem to definitely be more so.

  12. 12

    I’m a dietetics major, studying to be an RD and honestly, organic is a whole lotta hoopla.

    If it comes in a package, its processed. Yes the FDA may call it organic, but the FDA has so many flaws in how they classify things. If you want 100% organic carrots, they’re not going to be in a bag when you get them. You have to pull them out of the ground in your very own backyard if you want guaranteed organic.

  13. 13

    Thislady25 said,

    I’ve tried coconut milk in my tea/coffee and I don’t mind it. That was normal coconut milk, so I bet a coconut milk creamer would taste good. Goodluck!

  14. 14

    caronae said,

    If you have a fridge at the office, keep a carton of almond milk there! If you’re worried you won’t use it up fast enough, get a juice-box sized carton!

  15. 15

    […] remembered some comments from Mimi Lauren & Katronomic saying that coconut milk was good in coffee… so my interest was […]

  16. 16

    the best thing about organic foods is that they are free from hazardous chemicals that are present in non-organic foods;;~


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

