I’m Liz, I’m “The Vegan”

Ahhh sunshine πŸ™‚

So I went to a lake house over the weekend with some friends. Actually, I only knew 2 people… but the other 13 people were awesome! Now I have new friends! πŸ™‚ I was, of course, “the vegan” of the weekend, which was fine! I packed my own food, (and my own almond milk!) and cooked right alongside the others. The boys were even nice enough to grill my veggie burger for me! It was quite a fun weekend. But isn’t it funny the way we can be defined by our food?

What does this say about me?

Β This was a delicious combination of veggies & pesto, grilled by my friend Matt. It was SO good! It made me wish I had a grill… you know, not just my little george foreman! I was actually so in love with this combination, that I copied it for the next day. It was simple!

Grilled Veggies with Pesto

  • 1 yellow squash
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup of pesto (here is a vegan pesto that you can find at most grocery stores!)
  • Olive oil spray
  • Sea salt
  • Vegan parmesan cheese (or the regular kind, if you’re into that πŸ˜‰ )

Slice up your veggies into bite size pieces, and toss with pesto. Depending on the pesto, you may want to add sea salt. Β Line your grill (or pan, if you want to bake them in the oven) with aluminum foil and spray with oilve oil. Grill until tender, then sprinkle with parmesan cheese. This also reheats really well, if you have leftovers!

I’ve just been craving vegetables lately, so I’ve eaten the above recipe for dinner the last… 3 days in a row πŸ˜‰ So yummy! Now I really wish I had a spiralizer so I could make this recipe from Choosing Raw!

Tonight I’m getting sushi with my friend Leslie, so I’m pretty excited about that. Do you guys like sushi? I feel like a lot of people either love it or hate it! I love it, but then again, I just get veggie rolls, so it’s not “real” sushi I suppose… maybe that’s why I like it so much πŸ˜‰

Did you all enjoy the holiday weekend? Any fun recipes for the grill?

-LLV

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    What a gorgeous photo! So pretty!

    I love grilled veggies! Great idea to use the George Foreman grill! I’ll have to try that!

    Ha, I like the veggie sushi rolls as well!

  2. 2

    Oh man, I love sushi. Salmon is ze best. And veggie of course. But I prefer my sushi wrapped in rice/tapioca paper. I think the rice takes away from the flavors on the inside, ya know? Basically everyone else disagrees. Its okay.

  3. 3

    Nicole said,

    I wish I could magically own 2 spiralizers, so I could keep one for meself and gift you with the other! It’d be amazing to have one of those… and suuushiii! I went for sushi with a friend and got a bunch of veggie rolls and fell in love with the simplicity of ingredients. and the fact that I could easily make them at home. This weekend? I’m gonna buy me some seaweed! πŸ™‚ Have a great week girl!

  4. 5

    emily said,

    When I’m around new people, sometimes I forget that not everyone eats like me! It’s hard to bring my own food sometimes because I don’t want other people to feel like I think I’m better than they are, but I really don’t want to eat what they’re eating!

    I only eat veggie rolls, too, but it’s still sushi! I found out that sushi just means “sour” and refers more to the process of fermenting rice than raw fish! πŸ™‚

  5. 6

    I haven’t had sushi in a long time, and I didn’t like it the first time I tried it. I think if I tried it again I might like it πŸ™‚

    Those grilled veggies look so good!

  6. 7

    Oh veggies look awesome. I sometimes hate that I can get categorized by being a vegetarian. It’s how I eat, but not who I am necessarily. Glad you had a great time and met some new friends!

  7. 8

    The grill is pretty amazing, but I still love George. He is always there rain or shine. Your veggies look delicious! So glad you had a good time!

  8. 9

    Mimi said,

    Grilled veggies are -awesome-. So are roasted ones!

    I love sushi, but I stay away from the freaky rolls with stuff like cream cheese or a truckload of tempura. But a Catepillar Roll is yuuuummy.

  9. 10

    I have yet to come across a person who does not like sushi. Sushis are probably the best food invention from Japan! Well, besides green tea of course πŸ™‚

    There’s no such things as too much veggies either!

  10. 11

    craving veggies like mad! i went shopping the other day and 80% of my grocery cart was pure vegetable goodness πŸ™‚


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

