Where Can You Eat?

Dinner out with friends often starts with “Well, where can you eat?” and the truth is, I can pretty much eat anywhere. Most places are pretty accommodating, and let’s face it, everyone has salads these days. As boring as it can be to eat salads, I always have SOME option. (Ok, so I had to get pretty creative at the Cheesecake factory, but I made it work!)

That said, it’s always really fun when the restaurant already HAS plenty of Vegan options, such as 821Cafe, here in Richmond. My friend Stephen and I went here for dinner, and it was delicious!

I decided to order the vegan burger, which came topped with spicy mustard, sprouts, and avocado. YUM!

It came with a side of vegan chili, and it made for quite a delicious meal. Honestly, the burger itself was just ok, but the sprouts, avocado and mustard took it to the next level and made it quite splendid! Sorry for the not-so-great picture, it was pretty dim in there!

For all of you with special diets (vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, allergies) do you find most restaurants accommodating? Do you have favorite restaurants that cater to your food-lifestyle?

As for my recent workouts, I’ve been getting into P90X again. However, I decided it’s much better if I put the tv on mute, and blast my favorite workout songs! Now that I’ve done all the DVDs before, I don’t really need to hear Tony’s motivational voice 😉 and music just gets me jumping! That seems to make the workout go faster.

Do you guys like using workout DVDs? Or do you prefer to do your own thing? Normally I like doing my own thing, but I’ve been lacking motivation lately, and following the DVD makes me work out harder.

Hope you all had a good weekend!

-LLV

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Heather said,

    i don’t have a special diet, but i’ve noticed that there are TONS of restaurants that offer options for vegans/gluten free diets. that’s so awesome that the industry is supportive!

  2. 2

    I agree with you — I can eat pretty much anywhere. There are places that I don’t like to eat (like big chain restaurants) and places I refuse to eat (like McDonald’s), but I *could* eat there. I hate it, though, when people assume some restaurant must be my favorite because it has a salad bar (like Jason’s Deli). I can make a way better salad at home for way cheaper! (sorry for the mini-rant)

  3. 3

    emily said,

    i follow a 90% vegetarian diet, and it usually isn’t a problem for me. but then again, i don’t eat out that much! there aren’t very many veg-friendly restaurants or restaurants w/ local food in my town, but i do visit the few that exist. 🙂

  4. 4

    I am a gluten free vegan.. it’s kind of hard going out to eat, but most restaurants are very accomodating. I always feel bad because people have to make something special for me! There is a raw/vegan cafe opening up in my town this month. I am PUMPED!!

  5. 5

    Meh, people who are like “eeew, I can’t eat here!” just aren’t creative…excluding some fast food joints, because anything vegan there is just going to taste shitty, like Jack in the Box.

    When I’m trapped at my mom’s house, I’ll often bust out a workout DVD. For speed I like Jillian Michaels. For asskicking cardio I love insanity. For an all-around workout I like P90X.

  6. 6

    miss v said,

    i always say i can eat anywhere, but sometimes it’s not the greatest meal in the world. my family loves outback steakhouse and i feel like anytime i meet them for dinner, it’s there… which can get boring. i keep a separate blog of restaurants in the kc area so other vegans and vegetarians can see what they are in for!

  7. 7

    I love using workout DVDs for additional variety. And I would have muted Tony too. Can’t stand him and his corny jokes.

  8. 8

    Molly said,

    Hey girl, thanks for visiting my blog. I love yours! I tried P90X and not gonna lie, I gave up after 3-4 days. I think it was the yoga video that did me in. I am used to calm yoga (with a few difficult moves) and Tony’s yoga was like 90 minutes of hardcore stuff! I might try to start it again and just skip the yoga days. Other than that, awesome program! How are you liking it so far?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

