Failures & Successes

Last night I decided to make cookies for an event tonight, and so I was digging through the cabinet, trying to figure out what I could make with the ingredients on hand. (I’ve been trying to limit my grocery budget, by eliminating unnecessary trips to the grocery store. Because… I love grocery shopping. haha) I found a box of Duncan Hines brownie mix, which is actually vegan, you just can’t make it according to the directions on the box, because it calls for eggs. Anyway, there was an alternate recipe on the back for Espresso Chocolate Chip cookies. It went like this:

Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 box of brownie mix
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbs instant espresso
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil
  • 3 tbs water
  • 1  1/2 chips chocolate chips

You dissolve the instant coffee in the water, then mix all the ingredients together, and shape into rounded tablespoons. Looked simple enough. Of course, I didn’t want to use an egg, so I used Ener-g egg replacer. Well, I’m not sure what went wrong… maybe it was the egg replacer. But here’s what happened:

Does anyone know what happened here? I tried adding flour, and the same thing happened. I’m wondering if it was the egg replacer… Anyways. I debating posting this, because it was such a failure, but, I suppose it’s a learning experience!

However, I was determined. So I pressed on. And I had pumpkin in my cabinet. So I tried this:

Maple Iced Pumpkin Cookies

  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp pumpkin spice seasoning

Maple Frosting

  • 2 tbs Earth Balance margarine
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tbs maple syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla

For the cookies, combine the first three ingredients together, and then combine the rest in a separate bowl. Once you’ve got your dry ingredients combined, you can add them slowly to your pumpkin/sugar/vanilla bowl. The dough will be soft, but you can still shape it into balls. You’ll want to flatten them a little, as these don’t really spread much. Bake @ 350 for about 8 minutes, until they just start to get brown on top. Note: If you don’t want to make the icing, I recommend sprinkling some extra pumpkin spice seasoning on top.

For the frosting: Melt the margarine, and slowly combine with the powdered sugar, stirring in the vanilla and maple syrup. You might have to play with the amounts. I sort of guessed, until I got to a good frosting consistency.

I’m happy to report that THIS recipe, was a success 🙂

Have you guys had any recipe successes or failures recently? I think the initial failure made my success seem that much sweeter 🙂

-LLV

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’m sad that the espresso cookies didn’t work out — it looks so easy. I guess too easy … The pumpkin cookies look delicious, though!

  2. 3

    Perhaps you needed some baking soda? I’m not sure!

  3. 4

    emily said,

    i’m guessing it was the egg? i’m not sure what’s in ener-g egg replacer. Sad! But at least your frosted pumpkin cookies turned out beautifully! So excited for all of these great fall pumpkin recipes. 🙂

  4. 5

    Tina said,

    Recipe failures happen quite often in these parts. And those pumpkin cookies look amazing!

  5. 6

    The pumpkin cookies look awesome! I’m basically addicted to all-things-pumpkin right now, so these are especially enticing. I’ve been using a brown sugar icing on mine, but I’m going to try your maple recipe next 🙂

    Most recent recipe failure: This summer I was making a strawberry layer cake for a family gathering, and I accidentally added 2 TBSP of salt! I was talking while baking, and realized it as I dumped the second TBSP in. Fortunately I had enough ingredients on hand to start over (I still baked the original and my husband ate it anyway!)

  6. 7

    Simply Life said,

    your success looks like it made up for any possible failures!

  7. 8

    […] And for the recipe I didn’t post last time! Although the Chocolate Espresso Cookies were a fail, these double chocolate chip cookies most certainly were […]

  8. 9

    Oh no, too bad the espresso chocolate chip cookies didn’t come out so well, but it sounded like a really good idea!

    The pumpkin cookies look great, especially with the maple icing on top!

  9. 10

    Erika S. said,

    Hey Liz!
    It was the Ener-G egg replacer! I had the same problem with that and instant mixes…I later read on the box of Ener-G that it “works best with from-scratch” recipes. Not sure on the exact science behind it, but have avoided using it with anything but scratch after several epic failures. Love the blog! -Erika


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

