A New Fall Recipe!

I’ve been in a baking mood lately, so I tried out a couple of new recipes. The first is perfect for fall! Here’s what I used:

Gingerbread Cookies

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • ¼ cup + 1 Tablespoon margarine (I use Earth Balance)
  • ¼ cup + 1 Tablespoon pumpkin
  • ¾ cup molasses
  • 1 ½ teaspoons ginger powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¾ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¾ teaspoon nutmeg

1)Preheat oven to 350F (177C).  In a medium size bowl whisk together the all-purpose flour and baking soda.  Set aside.

2) In another medium size bowl mix together the sugar, margarine, pumpkin purée, molasses, ginger powder, salt, vanilla extract, cinnamon, and nutmeg

3)Pour half of the flour into the bowl containing the wet ingredients and mix with a spoon until well incorporated.  Pour the other half of the flour and mix with with a spoon until well incorporated.  It’s normal for the dough to feel really thick at this point and you may have to mix with your hands.

 

4) Roll into balls, and flatten slightly, since these cookies don’t really spread much! Bake for about 15 minutes. Let them cool, and then enjoy!

 

As you can see, when you shape them with your hand, your hands get a bit sticky! 🙂

 

For my next recipe, I used flaxseeds as an egg replacer… but I’ll save that for my next post! Hope you’re all enjoying the weekend!

 

-LLV

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Paola Angeli said,

    OMG these cookies look so good! I must make ’em for myself XD Thanks for the recipe! Baking in fall is pure bliss ♥

    Btw, lol at your hand! XD
    Paola

  2. 2

    Nicole said,

    Yummmmyyy! Love the idea of using flaxseed to sub out the eggs. Can I use applesauce instead of butter? or oil? I don’t have buttah :\ haha, take care girl!

  3. 3

    emily said,

    gingerbread is one of my fave holiday treats. i love the way it makes the whole house smell as it bakes!

  4. 4

    […] with all of these amazing fall recipes. I wish I had time to try them all!!! I’ve been on a pumpkin kick lately, but it was time to return to an old favorite, the butternut squash. Normally, I just slice […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

