Can Vegans Eat Animal Crackers?

Ok, so it’s not a serious question (although I suppose some animal crackers could have dairy in them…) but it was a question raised while munching on some delicious trail mix. Why trail mix? Oh, because I went camping!!

If you know me, you probably know that I’m not exactly the camping type, and this was actually my first camping adventure! It was only for one night, and I’m pleased to say it was quite a success! And in case I wasn’t already loving fall, there was some awesome leaf-changing action going on…

Other than a brief “Oh-my-gosh-what-was-that-noise-are-we-about-to-be-bear-food” moment in the middle of the night, (um, sorry Emily & Brett…) the camping was awesome! Lots of hiking and relaxing by the campfire. Oh, and my wonderful camping companions brought supplies for a vegan dinner!! We had a mix of rice, red beans, red pepper, and onions, all wrapped in a tortilla. YUM! Highly recommended. πŸ™‚

Oh! And for the recipe I didn’t post last time! Although the Chocolate Espresso Cookies were a fail, these double chocolate chip cookies most certainly were not!

I was searching around for a chocolate cookie recipe, when I found this one on the Post Punk Kitchen’s blog. Vegan or not, there are tons of great recipes on this site!

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 tablespoon + 1 teaspoon whole flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup soymilk
  • 2 cups all purp flour
  • 3/4 cup dutch processed cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 F.

Grind the flax seeds on high in a blender until they become a powder. This turned out to be harder than I thought it would be. Even with my amazing Vita-Mix, I found it to be tricky. I’d recommend blending Β a whole cup of flaxseeds, and then just measuring out what you need and saving the rest for later. The seem to blend better that way. Anyways, then add soymilk and blend for another 30 seconds or so. Set aside.
In a large bowl sift together flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt.Β In a seperate large bowl cream together oil and sugar. Add the flax seed/soy milk mixture and mix well. Add the vanilla.

Fold in the dry ingredients in batches. When it starts to get too stiff to mix with a spatula, use your hands until a nice stiff dough forms. Add the chocolate chips and mix with your hands again.

Roll dough into 1 inch balls and flatten into a disc that’s about 1 1/2 inches in diameter. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet about an inch apart.

Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for about 5 minutes, then set them on a wire rack to cool completely.

This was my first time using flaxseeds as an egg replacer, and it went MUCH better than using the Ener-g egg stuff in that last recipe…Have you guys ever tried using flaxseeds as an egg replacer?

These were chewy and soft, and they didn’t spread all weird like those other cookies. I’m happy to report another success!

On my camping trip, I started reading the book Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer. So far it’s interesting, and when I finish, I’ll give a full review! Any other interesting books you guys recommend?

-LLV

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Those cookies look yum! The only eggs I ever use are flax eggs! They are super easy – the trick for me is to use warm water though. Cold water never turns out quite as well!

  2. 3

    Those cookies look soooooo good! I have used the flax eggs before and it worked pretty well!

  3. 4

    Oh wow! Gorgeous scenery πŸ™‚
    And the cookies!!!!!!!!!!! um….yum!
    Yes, I use flax meal as egg replacer all the time. I can’t do eggs, so flaxmeal to the rescue πŸ™‚

  4. 5

    Your camping pics are gorgeous πŸ™‚ I live in VA too and haven’t had a chance to go yet (but I realy want to)!

    Flax seeds work really well as an egg replacer but they also have that “earthy” flavor. I’ve also used whizzed tofu/banana/cornstarch/ener-g and they all work well in different things and give their own distinct results

  5. 6

    Gorgeous pictures! Camping sounds like fun!

    The cookies look delicious! So chocolatey and looks like the chocolate chips will just melt in your mouth!

    I’ve only used the flaxseeds as an egg replacer once, when making brownies. The taste was fine, but the texture was a little off – a little sticky and crumbly, but seemed to get better the next day. Not sure why that was. Maybe I should try making this recipe, since it seemed to turn out amazingly well!

  6. 7

    I LOVE the Post Punk Kitchen! Their recipes are almost always never-fail. Your chocolate cookie recipe reminds me of their Rocky Road Cookie recipe (pretty much just add some white chocolate chips and chopped almonds into the this batter).

    Glad you had fun camping πŸ™‚ We go camping every summer, and I’m notorious for waking up my husband in the middle of the night (almost every night!) for the inevitable “What-was-that-sound-was-it-a-bear?” question.

  7. 8

    Megan said,

    Haha love the post title! Ooh and such pretty scenery on your camping trip!

  8. 9

    kbwood said,

    oh YUM girl!!! I love camping- so much fun and SO refreshing!

  9. 10

    WOW is all I have to say! πŸ™‚


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

