Fantastic *Fall* Foods!

Ok so I’ve been overwhelmed with all of these amazing fall recipes. I wish I had time to try them all!!! I’ve been on a pumpkin kick lately, but it was time to return to an old favorite, the butternut squash. Normally, I just slice it up and bake it for a super easy one ingredient (ok, 2 if you count salt) dinner… but I had half a squash in the fridge, and was in the mood to try something new.

Thankfully, I came across this lovely recipe for Butternut Squash Butter from Eat Live Run yesterday. Let me just say, this was FANTASTIC! I have to admit, I was a  little skeptical at first. Squash butter? But I had squash ready to be used, I happened to have all the other ingredients, so I thought, why not give it a try!

I roasted my squash:

And then threw it into the Vita-Mix with the rest of the ingredients

I’m always looking for an excuse to use my favorite kitchen appliance! (Thanks again, Mom & Dad!)

This turned out fantastic! My friend came over about an hour after I made this it went like this:

Me: “Sorry, my apartment still smells like squash, I made squash butter”
Him: “Squash butter? That sounds gross” (I leave the room, he opens the fridge. I return to the room, seeing him with my fresh jar of squash butter)
Him: “Wow…I was wrong… this smells REALLY good…”

Haha, you shouldn’t judge food by it’s name! It sounds funny, but this spread is my new favorite fall condiment! Thanks for the recipe, Jenna!

I enjoyed some of it on my toast this morning 🙂

What’s your favorite kind of *butter*? Apple butter? Nut butters? Squash butter?

-LLV

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    emily said,

    yum, your squash butter looks so good!
    people should not judge squash before they try it. 🙂

  2. 2

    I love apple butter. But almond butter probably will always be my favorite. I’ll need to try this!!

  3. 3

    Mimi said,

    Nut butter! Including coconut. But I want to make this!

  4. 4

    Kelsey said,

    ive been saving up for a vitamix. i wish i invested in one back when, instead of going through 3 moderately good blenders which failed..i could have spent the money on a vitamix that would last sooo much longer. its like an engine that thing, turbo charged ❤

    perfect for ur pumpkin cravings that are bound to hit throughout the season ❤

  5. 5

    Love this idea! I’ve never had squash butter before. Like you, I’ve been on a major squash and pumpkin kick lately (just made stuffed squash last night!). My favorite “butters” are almond butter, macadamia nut butter, peanut butter, and apple butter 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

