BodyBugg- The Calorie Counters Dream

First of all, let me clarify, I’m NOT advocating that everyone start tracking every calorie. I think that loses the spirit of a healthy lifestyle. It’s not realistic, and it’s sometimes impossible. It can take the fun out of eating, and turn it into a chore. That said, let me introduce my friend, the BodyBugg.

If you’ve never heard of it, let me give a quick explaination of what it is. It’s a little band that you wear on your upper arm. It sort of looks like a pedometer. It tracks the calories you burn throughout the day. That’s right, not steps, not heart rate, but calories! It’s over 90% accurate, and let me tell you, it’s kind of fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

I got it because I was curious! I usually have at least a general idea of how many calories I take in on average, but I had no clue what I was burning. I’m also really skeptical about the “calories burned” on cardio machines… So why not find out exactly what I’m burning? Plus, when you’re wearing it, you’re much more motivated to take the stairs!!

The BodyBugg comes with software, and when you plug it into your computer and upload your info, it will give you a little chart, detailing your calorie burn for the day. How cool is that? Let me tell you, it’s a little addicting!! My goal is to burn at least 2,000 calories a day! Even just a walk to the library becomes more fun when you’ve got goals in mind!

 

 

Ok, now on to some food!! I’ve seen so many amazing recipes for baked apples (Check out these great ones from ย Angela, & Holly!!) ย I was so inspired, that I had to try my own… but I was feeling a little lazy, so here you have it:

“Fake-Baked” Apples

  • 1 medium apple
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • sprinkle of nutmeg
  • 2 tbs granola (I like Galaxy Granola)

Slice the apple into really thin slices and coat thinly with brown sugar, cinnamon & nutmeg. Top with granola and pop it in the microwave for about 45 seconds. (I do it for 30, stir, and then do 15 more). It’s that simple, and it’s such a delicious way to get in a serving of fruit!ย This has been my new favorite breakfast/snack/dessert.

So what do you guys think about calorie counting? Are you for it or against it?

23 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I don’t calorie count because it’s been really negative for me in the past – I get obsessed and can’t think about anything else. I stoped cold turkey in June or July after counting for years. It was really hard at first, but now I would nEVER want to know how much I am eating. I know I’m eating healthfully so that’s all that matters! ๐Ÿ™‚ It may not work for me, but I’m sure it works for some!

  2. 2

    Oh! I’d also be interested to see how many calories you actually do burn throughout the day!

  3. 3

    Personally I do not count calories! I do pay attention to them though. I never heard of that nifty device but it sounds fun! I’d probably keep eating all day just to watch the number climb up… haha.

    Whitney

  4. 4

    Mmmm so excited for apple season. Your fake bake apples look super-yummy :).

  5. 5

    Haylee said,

    I’d be curious to know the comparison between how much you found out you’re actually burning vs how much the workout machines told you you were before. Was it around the same amount? Were the machines totally off? Fill us in! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m curious to know because whenever I fill out those bmr calculators on the computer, I am always skeptical of how accurate they really are.

  6. 7

    megan said,

    this seems kinda cool! i do think people could get obsessed with it easily though. those apples look gooood!

  7. 8

    i think calorie counting is good for those who are overweight and need to lose, so that they can learn how much is too much.
    but then there’s people like me, who do it and can’t stop and get obsessive and have to write it down or else have a panic attack ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    i’m healthy, not overweight, and have no reason to write it down. it’s just a really bad habit now!
    it does serve a purpose for some people though. it’s not always a bad thing.

  8. 10

    Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said,

    I’ve actually had a bodybugg since 2006 when they first came out (and were HUGE!) cuz I was a personal trainer at 24-Hour Fitness at the time. I’ve since upgraded to the one you pictured above (it’s SO much smaller and nicer). However, I go on kicks where I’ll wear mine every single day for a few weeks, then I won’t pick it up for months and months. In a way, though, that’s probably a good thing – I get an updated baseline once or twice a year of what I’m burning, and the ability to refocus on what I’m taking in, and see what changes I need to make. It’s an awesome little gadget!

  9. 11

    I’d be curious about calories, too! But I might get obsessive if I was tracking all the time. Cool gadget thought ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. 12

    I am lusting over the body bugg I would love to have one and I love your idea of fake baked apples. Definitely giving that a try!

  11. 13

    i think calorie counting is important if you’re really trying to lose weight, but for those trying to maintain, it’s all about wholesome foods! ๐Ÿ™‚ i think it’s interesting, so sometimes i track mine, but not on a daily basis anymore! jealous of your body bug, though! i wonder what the accuracy of my polar HR monitor is? it tracks calories burned, too!

  12. 14

    I’ve heard the Buggs are a lot of fun! I hope you enjoy using it. I get a little ocd about calorie counting and that kidn of thing when I start keeping track- so it’s something I’ve accepted is not for me, but for others it works well!

  13. 15

    Mom said,

    Nice to see you’re still using the Bugg! Lisa Wellman (Procurement) had one on the other day.

    I ordered 20lbs of Fuji apples from Lynd’s Fruit Farm this week (fundraiser for someone here at work). When they come in, I’ll have to try your “Fake-baked” apples.

    See you this weekend!

  14. 16

    Im against calorie counting because I think it is really hard for people to stop doing it once they learn how! But everyone is different, so its probably best to evaluate your personality and habits before deciding to do anything like that.

  15. 17

    miss v said,

    i always hate those counters on the treadmill – you know it’s totally lying to you! that would be pretty cool – can you also load in how much eat and have it do calculations for you?

  16. 18

    Lisa said,

    I want one of those so bad, ever since I saw them on the biggest loser. Please share how many calories you burn! I’d be interested to see!

  17. 19

    Simply Life said,

    wow, I’ve never heard of this – like your other readers I think there could be real positives and negatives associated with this depending on each person and situation.

  18. 20

    […] case you missed my BodyBugg post yeterday, I’m wearing a little tracker thing that will tell me just how many calories […]

  19. 21

    Ooooh that Bugg thingy sounds fab! I am always wondering how many calories I’ve truly burned at the gym. Awesome!

  20. 22

    I don’t count calories. I pay attention them, like for instance, I don’t eat 2 TBSP of nut butter at a time cause that’s 200 calories, and I wouldn’t eat a serving of chips because it seems like a wasted 150 calories. So I do watch them, but I definitely don’t count or add it up. I get obsessive about it and it’s all I can think about when I do, plus I try to calculate everything to the exact number. It drives me crazy.

  21. 23

    […] Fake Baked Apples You’ll think you’re digging into warm apple pie! […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

