PB & Banana Ice Cream

My parents came into town this weekend, to visit me, my brother & my sister in law. It’s so much fun having my family in town, so I’m glad they were willing to make the 8 hour drive! Last night, we went to Edo Squid, a local Richmond restaurant that is known for delicious Italian food! I hadn’t been there since my birthday, but we decided to go last night. Here was my delish vegan dish:

 

It was amazing, and the plate was huge! I only ate about half, and I was full the rest of the night!

 

This morning I woke up with a craving for something sweet… and I was pretty excited to discover that I had an almost empty peanut butter jar in the fridge… (note, there is a big difference between empty and almost empty.) It was definitely a morning for some PB & Banana “Ice Cream”. I’m sure you’ve seen similar recipes, but here’s what went into mine:

PB & Banana Ice Cream

  • 1 medium frozen banana
  • 6 frozen cubes of soymilk + a splash of non frozen soymilk
  • 1 packet of truvia
  • 1 tbs peanut flour
  • 1/4 tsp guar gum (optional)
  • 1/8 tsp xanthan gum (optional)

Throw it all in your blender (or Vita-mix!) and blend until creamy! If you don’t have a Vita-Mix, you might want to slice your banana before freezing, to be a little kinder to your blender blades!) Check out the nutritionals of this ice cream! Keep in mind, it makes a pretty big bowl! I recommend this with some peanut butter on top, or.. out of an almost empty Better’n Peanut Butter jar.

It pretty much made my morning πŸ™‚ There may have also been some kiwi snacking:

Am I the only one that eats kiwi with the skin on? Don’t ask me why I was using a plastic knife to cut this. Needless to say, it didn’t work that well.

 

Right now, the family is watching football and eating chili. I’ve been snacking on my sister-in-law’s AMAZING guacamole. Yummy!

What is your favorite football (or weekend afternoon) snack?

24 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    eatmovelove said,

    Chips and dip πŸ™‚

    The spaghetti/penne dish looks good! I would have ate it all … πŸ˜‰

  2. 2

    Kiwi with the skin on? Is it good that way? I’ve never tried it. Hey, if it’s good with the skin that will save a lot of time peelin’!

  3. 4

    Don’t worry girl you aren’t weird! I demolish kiwi with the peel on too. My fave weekend snack is yogurt messes. A big glob of deliciousness πŸ™‚

  4. 5

    I must make this.
    I neeeddd peanut flour! I cant find it anywhere! A trader joes is opening up in a week here… so I guess Ill just have to wait until then!

  5. 7

    I love making banana “ice cream”. My favorite football snack would also have to be chips and guac. Or anything with cheese!

  6. 8

    Yum! Making banana soft serve is fun. I’ve never put it in a jar though. Great idea! I eat kiwi with the skin on because I’m too lazy to peel it πŸ™‚

  7. 9

    I tend to eat a lot of chips and salsa on the weekends..no quite sure why that is!

  8. 10

    Freezing cubes of soymilk is an awesome idea for smoothies! I’ll have to do that.

  9. 12

    Heather said,

    that pasta looks amazing to me….i NEED it!

  10. 13

    Hi there -thanks so much for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚

    I love guacamole morning, noon and night – so it’s definitely a great afternoon snack. Same with hummus of course πŸ™‚

  11. 14

    I have never eaten the skin of a kiwi!!

  12. 15

    Lisa said,

    Omg, I just made that icecream with xangthan gum and guar gum. I was amazed at how similar to soft serve it was!

  13. 16

    Beth said,

    I loooove chips and guac or chips and salsa, but I’m also a huge fan of homemade caramel corn. It’s pretty easy and so delish to munch on during games!

  14. 17

    Mmmm guacamole, so good! Chips are so addicting, once I start I can’t stop.

    Ice cream for breakfast is always fun and so yummy. Looks great!

  15. 18

    I also ate out of my almost empty Better’N PB jar this morning! I had oatmeal though instead of an ice cream. πŸ˜€

    I think chips and dip is my favorite game snack. It’s just so darn addicting.

  16. 19

    LOVE your ice cream recipe! I’ve got to try this. I still have yet to use peanut flour though–I really need to track some down and try it πŸ™‚

    My favorite football snack is definitely tortilla chips with either roasted garlic hummus or black bean and corn salsa.

    Thanks again for the great recipe!

  17. 21

    Football to me automatically means nachos!!! The more loaded, the better!

  18. 22

    […] Banana “Ice Cream“ – It tastes indulgent, and fills me up, all for ~200 calories! […]

  19. 23

    Oh my goodness! How could I have overlooked BSSIAJ, banana soft serve in a jar!? Sheer brilliance! πŸ™‚

  20. 24

    I’m a sucker for chips and salsa/guacamole. If that’s on the table I really don’t want to eat anything else.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

