An Ode to Snack Foods

I’m a snacker. I get hungry! I prefer to eat smaller meals throughout the day instead of 3 “square” meals. But I have requirements of my snack food. I can’t survive on pre-packaged snacks! No no. If I’m going to have a snack, it needs to be healthy, and it needs to be tasty! Normally, for my snacks, I try to eat something that’s between 150-200 calories. Has at least 3g of fiber and at least 5g of protein. If it doesn’t have some fiber & protein, then I know I’ll just end up snacking again, so it’s gotta have some substance! Here are some of my recent snack superstars:

 

Banana “Ice Cream – It tastes indulgent, and fills me up, all for ~200 calories!

 

Fake Baked Apples You’ll think you’re digging into warm apple pie!

 

Kashi Heart to Heart Cereal – crunchy, munchy, and not too sweet

Amy’s Tamale Pie– Don’t be fooled, this super filling pie is only 150 calories, and is packed with 5g of protein and 4g of fiber!

 

And my newest favorite to add to the mix: Spiced Apple Pie Chips, thanks to Angela @ Oh She Glows

 


Check out these lovely snackers! They’re an interesting mix of chewy and crunchy. A little sprinkle of brown sugar and cinnamon. Perfect!

 

What are some of your favorite snacks?

-LLV

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    allieksmith said,

    I agree with your theory on snacks! Homemade stuff is just so much tastier!

  2. 2

    Some of my favorite snacks include bars, nuts & raisins, fruit, and maybe a PB spoon.

  3. 3

    Emily said,

    I like almonds and dried fruit or a whole wheat tortilla with almond butter and apple slices. šŸ™‚

  4. 4

    Mimi said,

    I’m not much of a snacker, as I like big, hearty meals. But I do sometimes have a snacky dessert, like protein ice cream (with looots of toppings), or yogurt with berries and nuts. Oh, and chocolate! All three can easily be veganized!

  5. 5

    CourtandWhit said,

    Homemade snacks are the best… and usually more filling! Some of my favorites are yogurt/apple sauce mess, apples & pb, veggies and hummus, kettle corn pop corn with lots of cinnamon, a rice cake with pb+fluff and green tea, an elvis on a piece of toast, trail mix, and lately toast with hummus and avocado!

    -Court

  6. 6

    I LOVE baked apples as a snack! I actually made a larger pan of your baked apple snack this week, and enjoyed a little bit for my after-work snack every afternoon this week. I also like snacking on grapes, nut butter with an apple, almonds, and dried apricots.

  7. 7

    just wanted to quickly say HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

    xoxo


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

