Confessions of a Salad Hater

I have a confession.

 

I’m a vegan, and I don’t like salads.

 

Ok, that’s not entirely true. There are some salads I enjoy, but for the most part, I’m not a fan. Last week, I made a salad at work and as I sat there forcing my way through it, I realized I wasn’t enjoy it at all. Not even a bit. But why not? I’m a girl who loves her greens. Why was I such a salad hater? That’s when I realized, the greens are not to blame. No, it was the dressing. I’ve tried tons of different dressings, and they’re usually too sweet/too tangy/too salty/too creamy/too runny/too thick/too slimy/too bland. I just haven’t found a dressing I like!

But this weekend… my salad has found a new best friend…

 

Hummus!!!!

 

I had a big pile of greens topped with a blob of roasted red pepper hummus, and let me tell you, that was a life changing salad. Ok, maybe I’m being a bit dramatic, but my love for greens has been resurrected.

 

Looking for a simple hummus recipe? Well look no further…

Basic Hummus Recipe

  • 1 can (16 oz) chickpeas
  • 2 cloves garlic (I used that stuff that is already minced in a jar, and I just put in about 1/4 tsp)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp sesame tahini
  • 1-2 tbsp water
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt
  • 1/2 tsp roasted red pepper flakes

Toss your chickpeas in your blender or food processor and blend for about 15 seconds. Add your garlic, olive oil, tahini, and 1 tbsp of water. Blend for about 30 seconds. If it’s too thick (this depends on how well you drained your chickpeas!) you might need to add another tablespoon or two of water. Once you get it to a nice pureed consistency, add your salt, garlic salt, and roasted red pepper flakes. I gave approximate amounts, but you can add more or less, depending on how spicy you like it. (I usually end up adding a whole teaspoon of red pepper flakes.) This will keep in the fridge for about ~10 days… but mine doesn’t usually last that long šŸ˜‰

This only costs about $1 to make, which is much cheaper than the $3-4 you’d pay at the grocery store!

Hummus is great on pita, carrots, cucumbers, sandwiches, and of course… salads!

 

What do you guys like to put on your salads? Any dressing recommendations? Do you like hummus on your salads?

 

-LLV

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I get sick of salads, so I get this. I really like dense salads. Kale massaged in coconut oil with sea salt and then tossed with cooked quinoa or millet and then lots of chopped veggies, a bean of choice and a vinegar of choice (I like coconut water vinegar). And a pinch of cayenne pepper. Mmm Mmm

  2. 2

    Do you thin the hummus out with anything (water, lemon juice, etc..) so that you can toss your salad in it as a dressing?

  3. 4

    Tina said,

    I’m not huge on salads I make myself. I love salad if its made by someone else or I order it at a restaurant but I never really make them at home. They always seem like a let down for me.

  4. 5

    I do not like hummus in my salads — a big blob is not something I want to eat. I like really simple dressings: olive oil + lemon juice + oregano + salt/pepper and I’m good to go!

  5. 7

    Haha, I love salads! My favorite dressing is EVOO and balsamic vinegar!

    Also, you know what you should try? Avocado! Seriously, I’ve tried just adding avocado to my salad, with no dressing at all, and it works perfectly. The avocado is so creamy, that it works really well if you want to mix it together with all your salad fixings! Just a plain avocado is all you need (I think I usually use about 1/4 to 1/2 of one). Try it and let me know what you think!

  6. 9

    kbwood said,

    oh my yummmy! I LOVE HUMMUS! oh my gosh! this recipe looks awesome!

  7. 10

    littleacceb said,

    My favourite surprise salad ingredient is canned green beans! I always thought they’d be gross, but my sister is a salad fiend and always uses them.

  8. 11

    I think I am the other way around, I eat everything with humus haha. The only salad dressing I really enjoy is probably oil and vin or cilantro lime dressing! Very good!

  9. 12

    Emily said,

    hummus is an amazing addition to salads! it definitely makes eating veggies more enjoyable. šŸ™‚

  10. 13

    I hate salads too! Well, plain salad. I have to have a pretty exciting salad for me to like it.

  11. 14

    allieksmith said,

    Salads are okayy-I agree with you. That hummus might change me too šŸ˜‰ It looks soo delicious!!

  12. 15

    I love hummus in my salads! I usually like to mix it with plain yogurt to make it more creamy.

  13. 16

    I love hummus on salads! I like my salads loaded with fillers to make it extra crunchy–I usually add corn, toasted walnuts, and beans to the usual salad toppings to make things more interesting.

    For spinach salads with strawberries, apples, and nuts (my favorite lunch) I use raspberry dressing.

    Thanks for the hummus recipe!

  14. 17

    Simply Life said,

    I love hummus – looks like a great recipe!

  15. 18

    holy cow, that was so weird! I did a double take at your picture of the veggies and hummus, because I have that exact plate! My snack plates look JUST like that all the time. I almost thought that was one of my pictures, hehe. šŸ˜›

  16. 19

    […] I suppose it’s hard to see the squash in there, among the peppers, chickpeas, black beans, onions, and spinach… but let me tell you, it was the star of the show! It feels good being a *reformed* salad hater! […]

  17. 20

    hey there! i’ve made homemade hummus a couple times, but it always has an odd taste to it. i’m thinking it’s the brand of chickpeas i’m using (organic garbanzo beans from trader joes). do you mind sharing which chickpeas you use? i’ve also seen a recipe for making them from dried chickpeas, but i never seem to find them in the farmer’s market or the grocery store.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment