Vegan Banana Nut Muffins!

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to get my cholesterol checked yet, but I have appointment for Thursday morning! I can get it checked at work, and they give me my results right away, so that’s awesome! I’m dying of curiosity!!

Last night, I was hanging out with my friend Stephen, who moved here from Ireland about a year ago, and I discovered that he had never had banana bread. What?! Never?! I know. It was crazy. So of course, this had to be fixed. Thankfully I had ingredients at hand! Here’s what I used:

Vegan Banana Nut Muffins

  • 3 bananas

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

  • 1/2 cup maple syrup

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds

  • 1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

  • Sprinkle of granola (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Mash the bananas in a big bowl and add the syrup, applesauce, & brown sugar until it’s nice and mixed. Slowly stir in the rest of the dry ingredients and then fold in the walnuts. (Don’t mix in the granola, although that could be cool…) Spray a mini muffin pan with cooking spray and add a spoon full of batter to each muffin cup. If you want, you can sprinkle a little granola on top. (I like to use Galaxy Granola) Bake for 9-11 minutes (or until a toothpick comes out clean, of course!)

These are moist and delicious! Even Stephen (who is jokingly skeptical about “American” food) came back for seconds πŸ˜‰ However, he still hates peanut butter, and that just seems CRAZY to me!

I hope you’re all having a great week so far! It’s been rainy the past couple of days, but the weather is still warm, so I can’t complain too much!

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I am skeptical about people who hate peanut butter, lol! πŸ™‚

  2. 2

    yum! great recipe!! i LOVE banana bread.

  3. 3

    yummmmmmmmmm!! i’d have to use GF flour, but yeah, i could definitely make these πŸ™‚
    hating peanut butter? i have no words.

  4. 4

    I just made banana nut muffins the other day. They’re gone now. Baked goods never seemed to last that long around me.

  5. 5

    oatsandspice said,

    Banana nut muffins?! YUMM you just stole my heart!

    Your blog is so cute! I love it and can’t wait to read more… I just started my blog about two months ago – it is so addicting πŸ™‚ Check it out if you get a chance: http://oatsandspice.wordpress.com

  6. 6

    Katie said,

    These look delicious…I need more muffins in my life.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment