The Finish Line- Cholesterol Update

When I first started this blog, I had just started my own “experiment“. I was going vegan for 6 months, to see if I could lower my cholesterol. I was already a vegetarian, but I though I’d see what veganism would do! Sadly, it didn’t change my numbers. My total cholesterol is 290, which is actually higher than it was a few months ago. (Not by much, but still!) My HDL (the good cholesterol) did go up, but my LDL (the bad) is still so high that the doctor said I really had no choice but to go on medication. Since my weight is fine, they said there wasn’t much else I could do. Sad.

However, veganism opened up a whole new world for me! I tried all sorts of foods I never would have tried. Nutritional yeast, soy yogurt, coconut milk, falafel, indian food… It’s not like these foods are for vegans only, I just hadn’t pushed myself out of my food comfort zone to try them !

I also did extensive research on veganism, and I read so many great books. Eating Animals, In Defense of Food, Food Politics… and I learned a lot about the meat and dairy industry.

I’ve been a vegetarian for the past 5 years or so, and I’m definitely not going back to eating meat. Although I’m going to slowly incorporate dairy and eggs back into my routine, I have a feeling I’ll still be eating mostly vegan, because honestly, I just feel better that way 🙂

So what do you think, can I still keep my blog even though I won’t *technically* be a vegan?

Thanks again for all your supportive comments. Veganism might not have been able to lower my cholesterol, but it definitely took me down a healthy path 🙂

-LL*mostly*V

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I’m sorry your cholesterol is still high, but definite kudos on trying veganism to see if it would help! My sensitivity to cow’s milk led me to try many of the same things you have, and my life is so much better for incorporating nutritional yeast, coconut milk, etc.! 🙂

  2. 2

    I too have just started incorporating some greek yogurt back into my diet – it’s easy to digest for someone who is lactose intolerant and it’s working out well! 🙂

    I think you can still keep your blog title, but as you get new readers, they may be confused.

  3. 4

    Molly said,

    Sorry your numbers were still high. Hopefully you won’t have to be on meds permanately! I would still love to read your (mostly) vegan blog!

  4. 5

    Ingrid said,

    I love greek yogurt! Yum!

  5. 6

    pawsitivelife said,

    I have been a vegetarian for about 14 years. It started off with the whole “I love animals” thing but now its definitly due to factory farming issues. Due to health reasons I did start eating a bit of seafood about 2 years ago, I still feel guilty but I absolutly refuse to eat other types of meat.

  6. 7

    Katie said,

    Haha, of course!! My blog is titled after cake, and I eat cake maybe…once every couple of months?

    I also consider myself a semi-vegan. I love a lot of “vegan foods” but occasionally throw goat cheese on a salad or eating a slice of pizza if the mood strikes me. I’m all about throwing off the labels and just eating what you want!

  7. 8

    ceciliag said,

    I think it is more honest to eat what you believe you should eat for your own health instead of marrying a label that tells you what you should eat.. Having lived with a vegan, a number of vegetarians and tons of omnivores.. I believe that life is a wander. We need different foods at different times. I hate to be labelled. And i seriously loathe being told how to be. So follow your heart and your dream. Do what feels right for you and drop the labels. Just be you. And don’t apologise! c

  8. 9

    BeckyA said,

    I’ve had the same experience with vegan/vegetarianism and cholesterol. Have ramped up cardio and hoping for better results my next doctor visit, but it’s frustrating when you’re body does react like the science says it should 😦


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment