My New Favorite Non-Milk Drink!!

Yesterday I was at the grocery store, putting some Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze in my cart, when I noticed some tempting cartons next to the A-Breeze… What was it?

Unsweetened So Delicious Coconut Milk!

I remembered some comments from Mimi, Lauren & Katronomic saying that coconut milk was good in coffee… so my interest was piqued. Normally I shy away from coconut things, because of the saturated fat content, but the unsweetened variety isn’t so bad!

Check out these stats:

Nutrition Facts
Servings Size 1 cup (240mL)
Servings Per Container 8
Amount Per Servings
Calories 50 Calories from Fat 50
% Daily Values*
Total Fat 5g 8%
Saturated Fat 5g† 25%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0g 0%
Sodium 15mg 1%
Potassium 65mg 2%
Total Carbohydrate 1g 0%
Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
Sugar 0g
Protein1g
Vitamin A 10% Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 10% Iron 4%
Vitamin D 30% Folate 6%
Vitamin b12 50% Magnesium 10%
Zinc 4% Selenium 8%

It’s still a little high in saturated fat, but those stats are for 1 cup… and I only use a few tablespoons. And the taste is delicious! It’s definitely richer & creamer than my Almond Breeze. I’m not sure I’ll switch over forever… but I’m loving the coconut! The actual coconut flavor was subtle, which was good, since I didn’t really want it to take over the coffee flavor.

Another fun, new grocery store find was Amy’s Tamale Pie.

To be honest, I had no idea what exactly this would be… and it sat in my freezer for awhile. But yesterday, as I was running out the door for work, I decided to throw it in my bag, and it turned out to be quite a delicious lunch!

I was afraid it wouldn’t be very filling, since the nutritional stats are pretty low calorie, but it kept me pretty satisfied! I would definitely get this again.


Have you guys found any new grocery store favorites? I’m always up for trying something new!

-LLV

17 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    New grocery favorites: Bob’s Red Mill gluten free pizza crust — it was easy to make and tasted really good! Plus its dairy free and gluten free.

    I’ve heard that coconut milk is good in coffee, but I haven’t made the trek to Whole Foods to look for it. My regular grocery store doesn’t carry it.

  2. 2

    I may have to try that coconut milk!!

  3. 3

    Lisa said,

    I love coconut milk! I love how creamy it is, but the taste is a little bit watery or something! I can’t explain it haha.

  4. 4

    Tina said,

    Haha! I just discovered So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer. It has 0 gm of fat per serving, and it is super creamy and delicious. I also just discovered Nacho Mom’s Ultimate Vegan Queso. WOW!

  5. 5

    i promise when they sell it here i will pick it up faster than you can say COCONUT!! ❤

    mmm i love Amy's frozen meals. the shepherds pie one is quite yummy too 🙂

    xoxo

  6. 6

    Oh my gosh, I love that Vanilla Almond Breeze! So good! Love the flavor!

    I need to try that SO Delicious Coconut Milk! Is it really creamier than Almond Breeze? That’s so cool! One of the reasons I like the Almond Breeze so much is because it’s so thick and creamy, kind of like the texture of regular milk!

    That Amy’s Tamale Pie looks good! I love anything with vegetables and beans!

  7. 9

    Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze is definitely my favorite non-dairy beverage…love it in my morning oats!

    My latest favorite grocery store find is frozen edamame–they started carrying it at our regular grocery store at the beginning of the summer, and we buy a bag every week 🙂

    • 10

      Oh I looooove edamame!!! And I totally buy the frozen bags. I buy shelled & unshelled. (I like shelled if I’m eating it on it’s own, and shelled if I’m throwing it in a salad, or stir fry, or soup!)

  8. 11

    Hey, give some love to the coconut! The saturated fats in coconut are medium-branch. They are really good for you!

  9. 12

    Yay! I am so glad you tried it!! Those stats are pretty sweet, right? The only bummer is less calcium. But you probs take a supplement, so no big deal.

  10. 14

    Simply Life said,

    I haven’t tried coconut milk – good to know!

  11. 15

    Oooh, I haven’t seen that tamale pie before! That sounds really good. I love other Amy’s products, like their burritos, have you had the Samosa one before? So good (if you like Indian of course).

    I love Alvarado Street bakery sprouted bagels. So good.

    I know what you mean about shying away from coconut, but it is SO delicious in so many things–soup, smoothies, baking. Don’t be scared of it!

  12. 16

    Megan said,

    I looove all of Amy’s foods! Just came across your blog and I love it too 🙂

  13. 17

    […] world for me! I tried all sorts of foods I never would have tried. Nutritional yeast, soy yogurt, coconut milk, falafel, indian food… It’s not like these foods are for vegans only, I just […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment