Archive for August 31, 2010

Iced Iced Coffee…

A few posts ago, I mentioned I’d been having trouble sleeping. While I’m still not sleeping so well, it has gotten better! Thank you for all your tips! Today I came across these 7 Weird Tricks to Help You Fall Asleep. Have you guys tried any of these?? I think a rocking chair would be a nice way to relax before bed! Too bad I don’t have one… the toe curling trick seems like an easy one. I think I’ll have to keep these in mind next time I’m tossing and turning!

I’ve been reading a lot about the salmonella outbreak in eggs, and I must say, it makes the vegan thing a little easier 😉 Not because I’m afraid of food poisoning (let’s face it, salmonella has been a problem in spinach, peanut butter, etc.) But when I read about the conditions these chickens are in, and how dirty the environment is, it just doesn’t make me crave scrambled eggs! Here was a nice article about How to Buy the Healthiest Eggs so all you non-vegans should check it out 🙂 You gotta know where your food is coming from!

I’ve been using my vita-mix a lot. (I missed it on vacation!) This morning I made myself some iced coffee. Here is my super simple Iced Coffee recipe:

Simple Iced Coffee

  • 1 cup cold coffee- roasted extra strong!
  • 1 packet truvia
  • 5 cubes of frozen unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 3 drops vanilla stevia

I just throw it in the Vita-mix for a few minutes, and then drink up. So good! I really want to try other milk alternatives though. Not that I don’t love my Almond Breeze, but I like trying new things… Any other milk suggestions? Soy milk? Rice milk? Other almond milks?

So I know I’m a huge dork, but I was really excited when a new (bigger) Kroger opened up on my way home from work! It’s HUGE! The produce section is amazing, and they have everything. They also have something called “Moon Pop” which I’d never heard of, and never seen anywhere else, because they make it right there in the store…

That’s moon pop, which is sort of like a giant rice cake…

My friend tried it, and she said it was gross. That it was too bland. And it’s true, it’s kind of bland. (It is, after all, basically a giant rice cake.) But it only has 10 calories per huge cake! So think about the possibilities! I started experimenting. I had some with salsa. (Delicious). Hummus (YUM!).  I sprayed some with a tiny bit of olive oil, and added salt and pepper, then baked it in the oven. It was pretty good! Sort of like salt and pepper popchips. Then I tried one with a sprinkle of cinnamon and truvia. It was sweet and tasty! Definitely a good tv snack, since you can mindlessly munch with no guilt! I’m not saying these are really a stellar health food, because they don’t really offer any nutritional benefits… but it’s better than popping open a bag of chips! And hey, I’m a sucker for a new food product 🙂

Anyway, it’s been sort of a rough night, 😦  but I’m learning what it means to be an adult, so that’s good! I think I’m going to go make some protein ice cream and finish watching this documentary…

Anyone have any good documentary suggestions? Food related or non-food related! I’m always up for some educational tv 😉

Also, if you need some inspiration… check out this post from Meredith and go live an epic life 🙂

-LLV

Comments (11) »