Brownies for Breakfast?

That’s right! I finally got around to making Katie’s Brownie Batter Pancakes!!! But let’s back up…

The morning started off with a run. My running buddy canceled on me, but thankfully I didn’t know this until after I was up and ready to run (other wise I totally would have kept sleeping…) The run was pretty good, I ran a solid 3 miles. But as I was waking up this morning, I read Damn The Freshman 15′s review of Slice of Life gummy vitamins and I thought, oh I should take my calcium supplement before I forget! But I forgot that taking calcium on an empty stomach is a bad idea!! So I felt sort of sick during my run… but I pushed through it, and had a good run overall! When I got home, I wasn’t feeling like breakfast, but after I showered and got ready for work, my appetite returned, and I decided it would be the perfect time to try Katie’s pancakes!!

image

Here are my little pancakes cooking up! I didn’t have applesauce, so I used mashed banana, and I used Jay Robb protein powder, because that’s all I had. I also added some baking soda to make them a little thicker and fluffier. They came out SO good.

I had these with a huge fuji apple… not pictured is the peanut butter that found its way on to my apple and pancakes… oh my goodness this was one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had!!

The pancakes also gave me a chance to try out some of the NuNatural‘s stevia products! I added some of the Vanilla Stevia to the batter. I think I counted ~8 drops. It was the perfect amount of sweetness!

I also tried some of the Stevia packets in my morning coffee yesterday, and I think I added a little too much, because it was a tad bit sweet for me… but that’s my fault, not the stevia’s fault!I normally put in 1 packet of truvia and about 3tbs of Almond Breeze in my coffee. It’s so delicious! I used to drink my coffee black, but I like it much better this way 🙂

How do you like your coffee? Do you have a favorite pancake recipe?

Tonight I’m going out for sushi with some friends from work. Definitely looking forward to a good avocado roll and maybe even a cucumber roll! What’s your favorite kind of sushi? I feel like people either love it or hate it!

Happy Thursday everyone!

-LLV

21 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ohmigosh I’m so honored/excited that you tried the pancakes!! 🙂
    I’ve always hated sushi… probably because I can’t stand the seaweed. Oh well!

  2. 4

    great way to use your stevia! your pancakes look great 🙂
    i like my coffee black in the morning and then with a little non-dairy creamer later in the day.
    as far as sweet pancake recipe: i use GF flour, baking soda, tons of cocoa, cinnamon, and ground flaxseed (as egg substitute).
    for a savory pancake recipe: GF flour, garlic powder, baking soda, ground flaxseed. then, i top with hummus and salsa or avocado and salsa. SO yummy!

  3. 5

    I haven’t tried katie’s brownie batter pancakes but I have recently made protein pancakes and have fallen in love. must try this recipe next! Ive never really been into pancakes before but these have totally changed my mind!

  4. 6

    Heather said,

    i actually really like a tiny bit of half and half in my coffee…but i want to try the NuNaturals stevia in there too!

  5. 7

    I like coffee black , or a super fancy drink at Starbucks. 🙂

    I really like regular old Bisquick pancakes — that is what my dad used to make every Sunday, so it is my favorite!

  6. 8

    kbwood said,

    I can NOT drink coffee black!!!! I like to add soymilk and truvia 🙂

  7. 9

    kaztronomic said,

    Those pancakes look really good!

    I don’t drink coffee unless it’s a treat, since it makes me jittery.

    I love sushi! The best one I ever had was a cucumber, avocado, and sweet egg roll — though, I’m sure, tofu would taste just as awesome in it, too. 😀

  8. 10

    i can’t stand black coffee…i must have at least milk to lighten up the bitterness!

  9. 11

    Brownies for breakfast….NICE!!!!!

    Yeah, supplements of any kind on an empty stomach is BAD news…I used to literally gag after taking supps and working out….like almost bring them back up, turn green gag. I don’t take anything anymore…I try to get it all in food. In the winter I do vitamin D, sp bc I don’t get any sun, and maybe some B12…anything else does not respond well!!!

    I am not a coffee drinker, I am a tea junkie 🙂

    I LOVE buckwheat banana pancakes…my fav 🙂

  10. 12

    i’ve never made pancakes, isn’t that sad? (lol!) i LOVE coffee though, i drink drip although drip coffee out here is sacrilege (rare do you see it in cafes. espresso all the way…) i like mine with lite soy milk and a bit of sugar. and i love good sushi too. tuna or salmon with cucumber and lots of wasabi!

  11. 13

    Those pancakes look GREAT! I definitely need to make a batch next sunday. My favorite pancakes are my peanut butter pancakes – soooo gooddddd! Like crack good haha 🙂

  12. 14

    Kat said,

    I totally had a brownie protein bar for breakfast and asked that same question in my post just now..”brownies for breakfast?” Haha what are the chances of that one!

  13. 15

    i have stevia liquid and sometimes i overdo it lol.. who knew stevia could get TOO sweet but it definitely tastes awful when it does. i enjoy mine with unsweetened soy and vanilla flav. stevia. sometimes i used almond milk too 🙂

    both protein brownies and dessert brownies are always welcome in my breakfasts. coffee’s definitely go with chocolate too 😉

    xoxo ❤

  14. 16

    I’m clearly pancake obsessed. I don’t think I could pick a favorite, but I’m definitely adding this recipe to my must make list 🙂 Thanks!

  15. 17

    I use Almond Breeze in my coffee.

    I love sushi. My toddler loves rice and veggies wrapped in seaweed, so we make “fake” sushi (wrapped in small squares of seaweed) quite often…

  16. 18

    Emily said,

    pancakes = my fave saturday morning breakfast ever. i also love pancakes w/ peanut butter!

  17. 20

    The pancakes look delicious! Great idea to add some vanilla stevia to the batter!

    I tried adding one of the stevia packets to a smoothie I made, and found it to be too sweet also – and I had only used a little of the packet, not the whole thing! I think the liquid stevia blends in better to things! Maybe I’ll try adding the stevia packet to a different smoothie, like one of those green monsters and see if it comes out well!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment