PB&Chocolate’s New Best Friend

Hello friends! How is your week going? I feel like mine is flying by, but it’s going well, so no complaints!

First, let me say, I am in no way against night time snacking! However, I personally needed to dial back the midnight munchies. What would start out as an innocent snack would turn into a night in front of the tv, going back and forth from the kitchen to the couch. Not good! So for me, I’m going cold turkey! And so far, it’s going great, because I’ve been eating more during the day.

Yesterday I did the abs class at work, with my friend Eric, and then we did upper body free weights. When I got home from work, I still had plenty of energy, so despite the somewhat chilly weather (it was only in the low 50s!) I went for a nice 4 mile run. It felt amazing! Instead of coming home from work starving and tired, I came home ready for a workout! Thanks to all that movement, I burned 2,700 calories, according to the bodybugg!

And now, for an important announcement:

Up until this evening, I pretty much thought that peanut butter and chocolate was a combo that could never be beat. I mean, have you tried Averie’s vegan peanut butter cups? But today… I added something else to the party…

Banana.

And let me tell you, this was a life changing experience.

Ok, sorry for the drama, but seriously, get out your blender and make this NOW!

Chocolate Banana Ice Cream

  • 6 cubes of frozen soymilk (I use Silk Light)
  • splash of non frozen soymilk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 packets truvia
  • 2 tbsp dark cocoa powder
  • dash of sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp guar gum (optional)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

Throw everything except the peanut butter in the blender and pulse until smooth. (If you don’t have a vita mix, you might need to chop the banana, and add the ice slowly…) Top with a tablespoon of peanut butter and dig in. It’s rich, satisfying, and, oh yeah, that whole giant bowl of ice cream (it makes about 2 cups) is only ~200 calories + peanut butter. (I don’t factor the peanut butter in, because sometimes I use PB2, sometimes I use Better’n Peanut Butter, and sometimes I use Dark Chocolate Dreams!)

What do you think? What’s the best  PB& Chocolate (optional, + banana) combo you like to eat?

 

-LLV

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Christin L. said,

    I’m more of a peanut butter, banana, and honey person, but I am a big fan of peanut butter chocolate chip cookies!

  2. 2

    yum-the ONLY way i’ll eat bananas is if they’re frozen or mixed with peanut butter.
    so, a favorite combo of mine is simply
    banana, pb, and cocoa all mixed and mashed together.
    that’s it 🙂

  3. 3

    Simply Life said,

    oh that sounds great!

  4. 4

    Cassandra said,

    ahhh I am totally stealing this icecream recipe and trying to make it…. cause there aren’t any icecreams out there I can really eat, so I’m really excited, I just have to find a replacement for the xanthum gum ( that will kill me ) lol

    I love your blog btw ❤


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment